You are here

ARTISAN HOUSE

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
4 Bedrooms
3.5 Bathrooms
Leave Review

Description

Casually Elegant, Beautifully Detailed Craftsman Lodge on 1/3 Fenced Acre, Hot Tub, Walk to Downtown Monte Rio, Dining, Movie Theater, Public Beach with Leash-Free Section, Boat Rental; Short Drive to Golf, Ocean. WIFI. Keyless Entry.Your Well Behaved Dog is Welcome!

This gracious home is composed a main unit and a smaller unit, each with its own entrance. In the main part of the house, the kitchen is open and between the the living room on one side and the dining room on the other. This great room opens to a large deck, outdoor dining, hot tub and yard. There's a half bath off the dining room. Upstairs, off the main hall, there's one bathroom, a bedroom, and a set of steps up to a loft bedroom. At the end of the hall, there's a master bedroom with its own sitting area and bathroom. The smaller unit has a main hall with a bathroom and two bedrooms, one with a ladder to a sleeping loft. At the end of the hall, the living room has a dining area and is open to the full kitchen. The living room opens to a deck with stairs to the yard. Home is approx. ~3500sf.

Winter 3-for-2 Special (Jan-Mar; President's Day excluded): Add a FREE 3rd night to a 2 night stay; 4+ nights 30% off.

Minimum Stay: 2 Nights EXCEPT 3 Nights President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day thru Sept 30, Christmas, New Year's; 4 Nights Thanksgiving. Summer: Up to 7 Nights June- Aug; Check-In Day is SUNDAY. Last minute shorter bookings sometimes available.

Max Occupancy: 10. Max Automobiles: 4. Quiet Hours 10pm-7am. No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #1983.

Amenities

  • Restored Craftsman Home on 1/3 Corner Acre
  • 4 Bedrooms #1master king (main); #2 queen (main); #3 queen (main); #4 queen (granny)
  • + double (granny extra room)
  • 3.5 Bathrooms (#1master tub/shower (main); #2 tub/shower (main); #3 tub/shower (granny); #3.5 half (main))
  • Baseboard Heat
  • 2 Woodstoves (living room, master bedroom/main house)
  • Gas Fireplace (dining room/main house)
  • 2 TVs (#1 32" w/Cable and DVD in living room; #2 w/DVD for movies only in smaller unit living room)
  • WIFI; Unlimited Domestic Long Distance
  • Stereo with CD Player (living room/main house)
  • 2 Dining Sets (#1 8 in main house; #2 4 in smaller unit)
  • 2 Full Kitchens with Gas Stoves, Dishwasher (main house only)
  • Bread Maker, Coffee Grinder, Espresso Maker
  • Graco Pac 'n Play (granny)
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Large Sunny Deck, Gas Grill, Dining Set, Seating, Hot Tub (6) off main house
  • Garden with Seating and Path to Monte Rio Bridge (1/3 acre fenced)
  • Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
  • Walk to Downtown Monte Rio, Beaches; Short Drive to Guerneville, Golf, Wine Tasting, Coast
  • Standard amenities for all homes are listed on "Before you Book."

Rates

Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6.

Total for booking will include the following charges:

$220 Cleaning Fee (includes linens)

12% Transient Occupancy Tax + 2% BIA Assessment

$75 Non-Refundable Damage Waiver Fee (covers up to $2,000 in accidental damage)

DatesMinimum StayNightly
03/01/17 - 03/31/172$399
04/01/17 - 04/30/172$399
05/01/17 - 05/24/172$399
05/25/17 - 05/31/173$399
06/01/17 - 06/17/173$399
06/18/17 - 08/20/177$399
08/21/17 - 08/31/173$399
09/01/17 - 09/30/173$399
10/01/17 - 11/20/172$399
11/21/17 - 11/25/174$399
11/26/17 - 12/21/172$399
12/22/17 - 12/25/173$399
12/26/17 - 12/28/172$399
12/29/17 - 01/01/183$399
01/02/18 - 01/31/182$399
02/01/18 - 02/14/182$399
02/15/18 - 02/19/183$399
02/20/18 - 02/28/182$399
03/01/18 - 03/31/182$399
04/01/18 - 04/30/182$399
05/01/18 - 05/23/182$399
05/24/18 - 05/31/182$399
06/01/18 - 06/05/182$399
06/06/18 - 06/26/182$399

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
March 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 

Map & Area

Reviews

4
(4.0 Average)

"Beautiful house, very poor maintenance."

3 of 5

This is a beautiful house with lots of unique features but it is on the downward slide in terms of maintenance and unless corrected soon will not be worth staying in at all. The apartment on the side of the house is in particularly bad shape with the bathrooms in desperate need of remodeling and some TLC. I slept on that side. The hot tube was in good shape and we used it but the outdoor grill we had to take apart and clean it and then only two burners worked. There was also propane leaking from one of the small portable tanks so certainly a safety issue. The heating issue was marginal for this time of year and probably not a problem in the summer but it was difficult to get house up to a reasonable temperature very quickly. All and all this house has the potential to be one of the best but it will take a lot of work to get it up to standards.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/15/2016

 

"We really enjoyed Artisan House....."

5 of 5

We loved staying at the Artisan House!!! We stayed with one other family for a long weekend. The big open downstairs brings everyone together connecting on the deck, in the living room, kitchen and dinning room. The fireplaces made things warm and cozy. They have really neat little nooks for privacy and the artwork is delightful. We definitely want to comeback.....

-OdysseusSF on 05/26/2015

 

"Artisan House is Pretty Much Perfect!"

4 of 5

We booked Artisan House for a birthday weekend with 12 adults, 2 infants, and a dog. It was absolutely perfect for our needs. The house and grounds are extremely nice, and conveniently located just a short walk from the market and "downtown" Monte Rio. We can't wait for the next visit!

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed Artisan House and its proximity to downtown Monte Rio, especially now that there's so much going on there with the new ownership of the movie theater and cafe, new market and restaurants, and now a shop or two. We do hope you'll come back to stay again.

-Sampson81 on 01/29/2015

 

"Artisan Compound"

5 of 5

This house was great! The location was perfect. We could walk to everything in Monte Rio, the theater, the beach, Barlett's. Great neighborhood to walk in as well. It seemed like previous renters were concerned with the traffic noise because it is at the base of Bohemian Hwy but it really was not bad at all. The neighbors were nice and the house and property were big enough for our crew. It was a joy to stay there and we would stay there again. The only thing that was lacking was the amenities in the granny unit. The kitchen was not stocked with cookware and dishes and the tv had no cable so you could only watch DVDs but these seem to be simple things to fix. The beds were pretty comfortable which is important and there were enough bathrooms.

Manager Response:

We're glad you enjoyed Artisan House, and thank you for your review. We'll look into the stocking of the granny unit kitchen. Often guests move things from one kitchen to the other.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/31/2014

 

"Great Summer Home for Large Family"

4 of 5

This house is wonderful and the master suite is incredible. Five total bedrooms but the ability to sleep a few extra on futons. Great location which is walking distance to a small market and the Monte Rio beach where they have canoes, kayaks and a great lunch option. 10 mile drive to the beach in Jenner and 4 miles to Guerneville.

Manager Response:

Thank you for your review. Artisan House is indeed a great summer home for a large family, and we're so glad you enjoyed it. Do come back soon!

-Matt Martella on 08/19/2013

 

"Restful, peaceful, cozy, warm."

5 of 5

Special place for large family and friend gatherings. Spacious living area. Quite neighborhood. This home is really a comfortable warm welcoming place.

Manager Response:

We're so happy that you enjoyed Artisan. It is a wonderful vintage home. Thanks for the review, and we do hope you'll come back. -Rachel

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/09/2013

 

"Too hot for comfort"

2 of 5

We have just returned from our week at artisan House, and enjoyed it, with an enormous caveat. The house is not properly set up for the heat wave we endured (last week in June, 2013). Although it has no air conditioning, screens should have been installed for the windows that open upstairs. (And...not all of them are even able to open). The house heats up during the day, and is trapped in the upstairs bedrooms. The fact that we rented the house to celebrate my mother's 93rd birthday, and she was staying in one of these bedrooms was extremely nerve-wracking. I had requested a partial rebate of our rent due to these sleepless nights...and no response from the Russian River Getaways management company.(Not even the courtesy of a negative reply). No doubt, the company will say that we should have notified them immediately about the problem, but we had no idea of the issue until the first day of the heat wave (Friday) that the house was ill-prepared to handle this. Other than this major factor, the house was well-equipped and charming (although they need to replace a non-working toaster). If roiling hot weather is not a factor, you most certainly will enjoy your stay. But one more thing to note, the house is not as isolated as one espects (there are very nearby neighbors, whom one can easily spot from the deck), and is extremely unimpressive from the outside, which leads to dismay when one first spots it. Go inside, and be assured.

Manager Response:

We have never had the kind of heat that you had to endure here on the Russian River and we learned a great deal from the perspective of our guests. We apologize if you received no response from our management team and I will be sure to pass your complaint along to our Services Manager.
Although we are in a country setting it's almost impossible to not have neighbors anywhere you go. We do have more remote and isolated homes and you just need to ask our booking agents and they will guide you to something more to your liking next time you book with us.
Thank you for your observations and we will look into your concerns.
Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/04/2013

 

"Rustic and very Roomy"

5 of 5

I loved my experience here. The Master Bedroom was amazing and the Granny Flat was huge. The house was well stocked and clean. I hope to visit again. I will say that the neighbors are very close and if you have a large group you need to go inside early to avoid calls about the noise.

Manager Response:

Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Artisan House is located in a residential neighborhood, and Sonoma County does have rules for vacation rentals regarding not disturbing neighbors, so we do have to respond. We appreciate your patience and the fact that you had a great time anyway!

-Cindy J on 04/25/2013

 

"Beautiful and functional space for a small getaway"

4 of 5

This was a delightful house that worked out perfectly except for the size of our party. For my 30th birthday I invited 13 friends up to the cabin because the max occupancy says 14. It's a good thing that someone brought an inflatable king sized air mattress though, because there were definitely not enough spots for 14 - the ad said something about additional futons but the couches were not pull out couches at all so the house really slept 11 comfortably, not 14. Otherwise, it was an amazing space - great kitchen, open living room and dining areas; the deck was awesome to hang out on, and the hot tub was a hit, though we had to take turns as it could only hold 6 people at a time. There were plenty of towels and blankets, as well as fire wood. It's very close to a beach area of russian river where we went to play frisbee and skip rocks - a nice relaxing addition to the area. The house is fully fenced in so you feel like you have privacy. The internet also worked well. All in all we had a great trip and I would do it again, though with fewer people due to space constraints (for sleeping purposes; the house easily entertains more than 14 people though).

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed Artisan House and hope you'll be back. There were large floor futons to help accommodate 14 people, but now the house has scaled back occupancy to 12.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/23/2013

 

"Fabulous time; great place"

5 of 5

Customer service was great. When I called to request an extended check-out it was easy. The house was grand and cozy. There wasn't really anything negative I could complain about. There were enough space heaters to keep us warm. The hot tub was nice. We enjoyed Bbqing one afternoon too. Walking distance to the beach and 10 minute into town.

Manager Response:

Thanks for your review and sharing your experience at Artisan House. We hope you'll be back soon!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 03/14/2013

 

"I'll be back"

4 of 5

This was a wonderful location, and an excellent house. The main unit has great ambiance. The granny unit is functional, but not as charming.There are two simple things that hopefully the maintenance guy takes care of before I come back, both are in the showers of the main unit. One shower has a terribly oriented showerhead, which only points straight down, right next to the wall. The other shower has unweighted curtains in a wrap-around. Since there are no weights or magnets on the shower curtain, the convection caused when running hot water in the shower sucks the curtain in. It touches you while you're trying to shower, and that's gross.The deck was fabulous. The hot tub is well screened from the road, and with the huge square footage of the deck and yard, it still has a very open feeling.

Manager Response:

Thank you for your review, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the house. We've corrected the bathroom problems.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/10/2013

 

"A very happy Family reunion"

4 of 5

The booking went well and rapidly, we appreciated the rapid response we had although the complexity of links on the booking form was overwhelming. Response to queries at the office when we were there was equally good.The house and granny apartment were perfect in size for the 14 who stayed there. The location and amenities were perfect for us with 6 young people and we were especially happy to have such convenient access to the river. It was excessively noisy with traffic from 5am but the gem of a housekeeper you have, told us about the start of the Bohemian club event. (By the way , you are very lucky to have such an excellent housekeeper who is also a charming person and chatted to us as we left which added a warm feeling to a sad goodbye for us as we joined together from the 4 corners of the USa.)The Plum tree was shedding many many plums on the entrance steps which got tracked into cars and house. The garden was a big asset and we used it a lot for games. This possibility was not mentioned in the description. We particularly liked the space both inside and on the deck . Thank you

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed the house and yard at Artisan. Booking is much easier with our new website, so we hope you'll check it out and come stay with us again.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/18/2012

 

"Lovely!"

5 of 5

We've stayed here a number of times when we needed to get away with our various groupings of family and friends. This property has lots of space for large groups. The deck and other spaces in the main house are great for entertaining. The granny unit is perfect for a low key space for tired children or grown ups. Nice balance. We also love the the access to nearby attractions like the Russian River, Goat Rock, and wine country.

Manager Response:

I'm very glad you enjoyed Artisan House and its great location. -Rachel, general manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/27/2012

 

"Nice home"

4 of 5

The house sits on a corner next to a main road with neighbors on two sides. It's quite large with lots of space but could use more/bigger beds. If you have 14 guests that don't want to share fulls and queens, then you're out of luck. Plenty of kitchen space and a very large deck that's elevated from the yard. The entertainment center is a joke plus one speaker didn't work. It's a quick walk to the river and convenient stores.

Manager Response:

This home is as advertised: A really cool craftsman masterpiece sleeping more people than most vacation rentals in Sonoma County. The beds are clearly noted on the website. I'm glad you had a good time despite some issues. The entertainment center is what it is, again clearly detailed on the website. There should not have been any surprises outside of the speaker not working. Usually this is a disconnected wire. Next time, call us so we can take of it for you. I'll look into it now and make sure both speakers are working. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/11/2012

 

"Beautiful Home!"

5 of 5

Everything from the rental process to checkout was super easy. We really loved the house -- it was clean and very spacious, with plenty of Craftsman-style charm. The backyard is very beautiful. I would love to come back in the summer months!

Manager Response:

We're so so glad you loved this amazing home. Please do come back soon! -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/15/2012

 

"Comfortable family Thanksgiving vacation"

5 of 5

The office people were very helpful, we were able to preview the house which enabled us to decide what sleeping arrangements would work best. We needed xtra chairs for Thanksgiving. I called and asked ahead of time and the folding chairs were provided with the units. Kitchen and open area were great, plenty of space for folks to spread out and be together too. Heating and lighting were very good. Going from house to house so easily was really good. Showers in bathrooms are not very strong and could be replaced.

Manager Response:

We strive to provide a great getaway experience, and holidays like Thanksgiving are especially important to us. So, we're very glad that this home worked out so well for you. We'll pass on the info about the showers to the owners. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/13/2011

 

"Large but troubled home"

1 of 5

The home is not well maintained and was dirty upon arrival...needs a deep cleaning. we found several little varmits in the kitchen, lights burned out, TV not working, windows cracked. Location is ok (near the river) but a heavily trafficed area...the bus to Santa Rosa goes by (noisily at 5:30am)...city noises abound, crowded area. House is not well heated with loose fitting doors (many gaps to let the wind in)...definitely needs some attention and cleaning.

Manager Response:

This is a vintage home, so it's a little quirky, but it was not dirty. The "little varmits" were a few dead bugs. We are in a forested rural area where there is a lot of wildlife, including bugs, which occasionally have the ill grace to come into a house and die in inopportune places. The best cleaning in the world can't stop this. The lights were all fine when inspected before arrival. We've had no other report of the TV not working and inspection showed it to be fine. These folks did not call us, so I'm not sure what happened there. There are instructions now for the TV to help avoid user error. There is a window cracked in one of the many many glass paned doors. These are vintage wood doors so not as airtight as vinyl, and they need special treatment. The windows are scheduled to be repaired and weather stripped in November. This is a very quiet area with little traffic, despite the occasional bus, but it is in a neighborhood - like almost all the homes in this area. -rkl

The windows have been restored. -Rachel, general manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/05/2011

 

"What a beautiful house..."

5 of 5

We had a great time in the artisan House. Beautiful location and all the details one would need for a great stay... Thank you. Bw

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/27/2011

 

"Fun Times"

4 of 5

We stayed at the artisan House, there were 5 couples and 6 children all 3 or under. We usually go away as a group and it is really lovely to find a place not to far from home that fits us all comfortably. We used both houses and it worked perfectly. We were able to use the main house for our dinners and grown-up time in the evenings. We especially liked its location as we did not have to get in the car to go to the local playground or to see the river. We spent a lot of time in the house which was warm and cosy and well suited for our group.We had a lovely walk on a local beach and generally just enjoyed ourselves.The only issue we had was the toilet became blocked and we had not realised that we were responsible for getting it un-blocked. Russian Rivers Getaway ultimately sorted it all out for us, however I would like to make sure that others are aware that when they call the emergency number for a blocked toilet it may be better to call a local plumber.

Manager Response:

So glad these folks liked the wonderful home. Just a note that we test the toilets before each booking, so if there is an issue, it's almost always user error - this is why we ask the guest to get it fixed. However, our service techs can fix most toilet problems, and they're generally less expensive than a plumber. -rkl

-R Emanuel on 02/03/2011

 

"The perfect getaway for a family get-together"

5 of 5

Artisan House was attractive & comfortable for our family gathering of eleven (including two young children). We liked the combination of privacy for sleeping arrangements and open gathering space -- living room, kitchen, dining room & deck all distinct but merging comfortably. The location of the house in Monte Rio was ideal for easy access to all the various activities the area has to offer! Thanks for providing us with this great house!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/12/2010

 

"nothing worked quite right"

2 of 5

This home was large, and would have been perfect if the outing had been for a bunch of college friends for a reunion party or something like that. As it was, with extended family, the house didn't work. The internet access didn't work. One of the washers didn't work. The second unit was overrun with spiders, and was stuffy. The whole house smelled musty and uncomfortable. The television was really small/hard to see from the sofas/chair. The jacuzzi and the deck were nice. The house is on a corner lot, and the trucks started barreling past at 7 am and didn't stop all day/evening. I wouldn't stay again, especially for an entire week. Really expensive for what you get.

Manager Response:

We wish we had known about the issues with the internet and washing machine while these folks were here, so we could have fixed them. We did not have subsequent complaints about these things, so we're not sure what happened. We do have some wildlife here, including spiders, but "overrun" is not really possible in a house that's cleaned thoroughly once a week. Upon inspection, the house is not musty or stuffy. Sounds as though it was just hot while these folks were visiting. The TV is 32". The road near this house is normally very quiet, so there must have been some event that caused there to be more traffic than usual. -rkl

-Itty Bitty on 07/30/2010

 

"Pics Don't Do It Justice"

4 of 5

Photos on the Getaways site don't hold a candle to how pretty and impressive this place is, inside and out. The deck seems bigger when you get there, and the kitchen's unique set up is very striking when you walk in. Items of note: The highest room in the main house has an extremely loud air conditioner that goes off and on all night. The loft in the side unit has a sun roof that would stun anyone awake in high summer. The master bedroom has a very tiny mirror, so we ended up sharing the other bathroom when girls wanted to wash faces etc. As far as futons, they are nice and there is space to put them in other rooms than those they started in. The housekeeper was there when we arrived, which I didn't like, but I bet this is uncommon. Some more pros: Don't miss the little walkway to the bench in the garden! There's lots of closet space everywhere. The master bedroom is much bigger than it looks online. The seating areas are comfortable. Previous guests usually leave random amenities in the pantry. There's plenty of street parking. It's just a stone's throw to the beach. We thought the price was a bit much when you consider paying that price for someone to sleep on a futon, but when we all arrived, even the futon sleepers were very impressed and had no regrets!Happy vacationing!

Manager Response:

Glad these folks liked this house so well. We have no idea what the "loud air conditioner" is. There's no air conditioning at this home, and when we looked, we couldn't find any other machinery that would account for this problem. We've had no other complaints about it. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/24/2010

 

"Artisian's House, Our Home Away From Home!"

4 of 5

I believe this is the 8th year we have stayed at the Artisian's House! It the perfect home base for wine tasting, going to the beach or kayaking down the river! We love the open floor plan and the space to all be together, all 14 of us!!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 03/11/2010

 

"Great Big House is Perfect Location."

4 of 5

The Main house is fantastic blend of open space and cozy comfort. The kitchen was well stocked and the space appointed very well. The best place for everyone to hang out. The in law unit tends to be less inviting or intimate. The location is also a great mix of close walking distance to groceries, coffee, movies, dog park and river access. But feels remote and wooded.RRG is always helpful and accommodating. I find their service and policies consistent and thoughtful. I like the keyless entry.The Main house seems to have a dishwasher problem. Never actually cleaned anything.The in law unit has a dark and hard to use kitchen.

Manager Response:

We're so glad these folks enjoyed their stay. The dishwasher has been replaced. You can see pictures of the cottage on the website, so you can see it is neither dark, nor hard to use. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/18/2010

 

"We love this place!"

5 of 5

We've stayed in this home twice, and love it for our large group. The kitchen is great for group meal prep, and the rest of the house is so inviting for hanging out, socializing, relaxing, or ducking out for rest and respite from all the activity. I can't wait to go back!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/05/2009

 

"Odd things"

3 of 5

The cleaning crew was 40 min. late getting done. They said the former people left very late. 'had to buy batteries for the remote, dish washing soap and some toilet paper. Smoke from the fireplace drifted up to the master bedroom. The sound from the kitchen is bad in the master with no wall over the closet area. The place, however, was charming and I would stay there again.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/08/2009

 

"Great house for groups"

5 of 5

We stayed at this property for a 40th birthday celebration. We had several people with us (14 total, including 2 toddlers) and everyone enjoyed the stay. It was nice to have a separation of space in the 2 houses; the main deck is huge and receives full sun for the majority of the day. The kitchen in the main house is centrally located so that even if you're cooking, you can still be a part of the mix. It was nice to relax in the hot tub and a river beach and playground are within 2 blocks. The men enjoyed a later morning round of golf at Northwood (5 minutes away) as well. Everyone's expectations were met. We would definitely return to this property.

-Sepulvedas on 04/29/2009

 

"Nice holiday weekend despite some rain"

4 of 5

This is a great house for a gathering of family and friends. We were looking for a place with large, open seating areas including a dining table that seats 10 and a large kitchen. Artisan House exceeded my expectations, and I would definitely consider renting again in the summer months to take full advantage of the large deck. The house was very clean, and the furnishings were more than adequate for an enjoyable weekend. We found the bed in the master bedroom to be extremely comfortable.Our only issues amounted to minor inconveniences (keyless entry code did not work initially, internet service went down temporarily, hot tub controls locked up temporarily) that required service calls but after that were resolved very quickly by the management.Also, the house took awhile to warm up initially but then was very warm and cozy once the wood-stove was heated. Probably not an issue during the summer, I'm guessing.Keep in mind that mobile phone service is quite limited (Verizon worked ok, but AT&T did not), and the loft sleeping area in the main house has limited privacy.

-JF on 02/20/2009