You are here

LUCY'S LAIR

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
2 Bedrooms
One Bathroom

Description

Light-Filled Creekfront Contemporary Cabin on Redwood-Studded Grounds with Beautiful Views, Lawn, Creek Access, Sunny Deck and Lawn, Hot Tub, Outdoor Dining; Short Drive to Duncans Mills, River Beaches, Coast. WIFI. Keyless Entry. Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!

The living room is open to the kitchen, with a dining set for four in between. Sliders lead to a 600sf gated deck, outdoor dining, hot tub, creekside yard with large lawn, and creek access. There are two bedrooms and a bathroom off the main living area. One bedroom has its own entrance to the deck. House is approx. 900sf.

Winter 3-for-2 Special (Jan-Mar; President's Day excluded): Add a FREE 3rd night to a 2 night stay; 4+ nights 30% off.

Minimum Stay: 2 Nights EXCEPT 3 Nights President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day thru Sept 30, Christmas, New Year's; 4 Nights Thanksgiving. Summer: Up to 4 Nights June- Aug; Check-In Day is VARIABLE. Last minute shorter bookings sometimes available.

Max Occupancy: 4. Max Automobiles: 2. Quiet Hours 10pm-7am. No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #2021.

Amenities

  • Private Creekfront Property with Redwoods
  • 2 Bedrooms (#1 queen; #2 queen)
  • + Sofa Bed (living room)
  • 1 Bathroom (shower only, separate room w/toilet)
  • Central Heat, Gas Fireplace (living room)
  • 3 Cable TVs (#1 42" HD flat screen w/HDVR in living room, #2 15" LCD w/DVD in bedroom; #3 13" w/VCR in bedroom)
  • Stereo w/Cassette (also amplified stereo speakers for computer, iPod, etc.)
  • WIFI, Unlimited Domestic Long Distance
  • Hardwood Flooring, Cathedral Ceiling w/Skylights
  • Dining Set (4), Bar Seating (2)
  • Gas Stove, Dishwasher, Coffee Grinder
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Large Gated Deck with Gas Grill, Fridge, Dining Set (4), Hot Tub (4 person), Loungers, Outdoor Living Furniture
  • Rear Yard with Expansive Lawn, Shade Trees
  • Path to Creek
  • Swimming Hole Nearby
  • Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
  • Short Drive to Duncans Mills, River Beach, Golf, Hiking, Wine Tasting, Coast
  • Standard amenities for all homes are listed on "Before you Book."

Rates

Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6.

Optional: $25/night for two extra kids.

Total for booking will include the following charges:

$105 Cleaning Fee (includes linens)

12% Transient Occupancy Tax + 2% BIA Assessment

$50 Non-Refundable Damage Waiver Fee (covers up to $1,000 in accidental damage)

 

DatesNightly
02/20/17 - 02/28/17$219
03/01/17 - 03/31/17$219
04/01/17 - 04/30/17$219
05/01/17 - 05/24/17$219
05/25/17 - 05/31/17$219
06/01/17 - 06/19/17$219
06/20/17 - 08/19/17$219
08/20/17 - 08/31/17$219
09/01/17 - 09/30/17$219
10/01/17 - 11/20/17$219
11/21/17 - 11/25/17$219
11/26/17 - 12/21/17$219
12/22/17 - 12/25/17$219
12/26/17 - 12/28/17$219
12/29/17 - 01/01/18$219
01/02/18 - 01/31/18$219
02/01/18 - 02/14/18$219
02/15/18 - 02/19/18$219
02/20/18 - 02/28/18$219
03/01/18 - 03/31/18$219
04/01/18 - 04/30/18$219
05/01/18 - 05/23/18$219
05/24/18 - 05/31/18$219

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
February 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Map & Area

Reviews

Average Rating 4.25 of 5

"It was comfortable"

3 of 5

It was nice, a little plain and lacked warmth. The beds were great. Apparently the garbage cans were not secured and my dogs and I were awake all night listening to the racket of animals in the garbage. What a mess.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/14/2016

 

"We love Lucy's Lair"

4 of 5

We've been taking our annual weeklong August vacation in Cazadero for many years. We have stayed at Lucy's Lair for seven of these trips, as well as the occasional long weekend trip in the winter.The house is situated perfectly to enjoy Cazadero. Austin Creek is in the backyard. The street the house is on is the quieter of the two main streets going through Cazadero. We love the wild blackberry bushes along the creek.The house itself is an open floor plan style, with a large central room comprising kitchen, dining room and living room. The two bedrooms open into this central room, separated by a bathroom, which also opens into the main room.The kitchen is well stocked and easy to cook in. I enjoyed the quality of the pots and pans - something you don't find in every rental. I have learned to bring my own knives. I appreciate the gas stove.The bedrooms are an OK size, a bit small. The only drawback is that the bed in the master bedroom is so uncomfortable we have stopped booking at this house. It really is that bad. When one calls the rental company to complain, they always say that beds are a matter of personal preference, but the reviews on this are consistent and something should be done.We're trying other houses in the area, somewhat regretfully because really, we do feel Lucy's Lair has so much going for it in terms of location it's hard to beat.

-Mamabearette on 01/13/2015

 

"Peace and Quiet: A rejuvenating experience"

5 of 5

The house was very well organized, clean and restful. All the amenities were in working order. The picture window gave all day access to the sky and trees along the river. My friends and I enjoyed the entire experience.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/09/2014

 

"peaceful location and relaxing environment"

4 of 5

Amazing redwood tree area. Wonderfully quiet. We loved our stay because it was the break we needed. The open plan of the house is lovely. Sofas could use refreshing and deck and outdoor furniture are quite weathered but all is manageable. Great location in terms of access to local attractions and the ocean. We will do the rental again for sure!

Manager Response:

And we will welcome you back. Thanks for sharing your experience. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/25/2013

 

"Great hang time"

4 of 5

We rented the home for a long weekend with our dog. Our dog loved the water access and creek fun. We enjoyed the beach fire pit and gorgeous warm weather. Very relaxing trip and we would return.

Manager Response:

Lucy's is a little gem away from home. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with your dog. It's one of our cabins that's definitely geared for dogs. We' hope to see you soon!
Russian River Getaways

-Destia on 06/12/2013

 

"Beautiful, quiet, relaxing"

4 of 5

I would definitely recommend staying at the Lair. It was beautiful, spacious, great for dogs, with a very nice deck and much-appreciated hot-tub surrounded by redwoods, and with the river just down the way from the property. My wife and I stayed with two friends of ours (another couple), and the house was great for that purpose. There are houses on either side, so don't expect total seclusion, but this was not problem and the area was quite quiet. We stayed for New Year's, so the outdoor activities were a bit limited, but I imagine that late spring, summer, and early fall would make for excellent river activities. The only two minor complaints we had: 1) the overhead light in the living room didn't seem to work, and 2) the path to the river was well-overgrown with brambles and required a little creative climbing down. Not a big deal for us, but it could use some tending to.

Manager Response:

We'll make sure the light is fixed and the path cleared, thanks for letting us know.

-Chris on 01/18/2013

 

"Most Relaxing"

4 of 5

We had a most relaxing experience. The little ones loved the creek and the freedom of a large open area. We enjoyed the hot tub and low keyed atmosphere. A great place to get away from it all!

-A Redwood Lover on 07/26/2012

 

"Nice, clean and well equipped house in great location!"

4 of 5

He had a great time at Lucy's Lair. Our 3 yo daughter and dog loved the creek! The house is well equipped, clean and in a great, quiet location. The bedrooms are on the smaller side, but that was no problem for us.

-Markus on 06/07/2012

 

"Relaxing and Cozy with nice scenery"

4 of 5

Loved it but did think the grass should have been mowed a little so it wasn't up around the chairs. Pretty little creek with a nice little beach area. Only 7 miles to the ocean beach @Jenner.

-CLSully on 06/01/2012

 

"quiet"

4 of 5

The house was nice, I loved the spa!!!I traveled with my Mom and 13 year old dog,the steps in and out out the house were difficult for him at times. We went canoeing on the russian river, that was a fun and different experience. I would like to stay in the area again, i just wish it was closer than the 11 hours it took.

Manager Response:

Glad these folks enjoyed this home. I was just there the other day, and the steps are just regular steps, not too many of them and in good shape, so I'm guessing the dog is somewhat infirm. -rkl

-love to travel on 10/10/2011

 

"Perfect for my young family and really old dog"

5 of 5

We had an amazing trip. Our two kids (3 and 5) got to visit the beaches in Jenner, explored their first creek, picked blackberries, roasted marshmellows over the fire pit and even saw bats for the first time.Since our children are so young and not experienced swimmers yet, I didn't want a deep water/river location and this cabin fit the bill perfectly. When we were not walking/exploring in the creek with the kids, my husband and I were able to sit on the rocks and watch the kids build dams in the creek, find bugs and fish and explore a little without mom and dad hovering over their every move.The cabin was also perfect for my 13yo labrador whose arthritic hips won't allow him to swim as strongly as he did in his younger days. I feel blessed that I was able to give him a great outdoor adventure that was not too damanding for his age.I am now officially in love with the Russian River/Austin Creek area and dream of one day owning my own "Lair". I hope the future owners of Lucy's Lair continue to rent out their cabin as I would love to stay there again.Thank you to the current owners of Lucy's Lair, for allowing others to experience thier little slice of heaven in Cazadero. We treated your cabin like it was ours and tried to leave it in the same, if not better, condition than when we arrived.

-Robin on 09/14/2011

 

"Relaxing"

3 of 5

The house was nice. I liked the open floorplan and the large deck. The redwoods in the frontyard were heavenly. I see them when I close my eyes. The instructions on how to attach the dishwasher to the sink were lacking...I had a panicky moment as I had a washer full of dishes and hadn't seen one of these since the 1960s. However, it all worked out.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/29/2011

 

"Great Location for cabin"

4 of 5

We loved the cabin location and the creek made it even more wonderful. A few things about the cabin that I did not like:1) not very clean at all. Under the beds and sofas, there was an inch thick of dust.2) Broken, chipped plates and cups. Should not have that rental homes.3) Many of the drawers had tons of junk in it. They need to be clean up4) Pots and pans were really old and dirty. Need better and newer cooking pots.5) The table on the deck was old and breaking. Whoever is responsible for this house needs to take better care of it and offer newer furnitures and kitchen utensils and pots.

Manager Response:

The cleaner on this house has been replaced, so the floors are clean now. The owner has checked out and taken care of the other items. -rkl

-Nilza's Review on 07/13/2011

 

"Great Memorial Day Weekend Getaway"

4 of 5

Everything about Lucy's Lair is wonderful. The only thing I would change is to manicure the path down to the creek since there is a lot of poison oak on the grounds.

Manager Response:

The path has been cleared, but there is no poison oak on the property. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/08/2011

 

"A basic getaway"

3 of 5

Lucy's Lair was a nice, basic home for a nearby, weekend getaway. The home was clean and cozy. Check-in was keyless and easy. Unfortunately for us the weather was not great so we did not get to use the hot tub, though we did like the easy, direct access to the creek. The location of this home was great. We couldn't get the tv in the livingroom to work which was a bummer because we were indoors most of the time due to the rain. Fortunately the wireless access was excellent. There was nothing particularly spectacular about our stay in this home, but it was comfortable and relaxing to just get away.

Manager Response:

We're glad these guests found relaxation in this home. When we checked the TV out, it was working. The guests didn't call us during their stay, so we don't know if they found the TV instructions in the house binder, but if they had called us, we could have helped them. -rkl

-weekender on 05/25/2011

 

"Relaxed"

5 of 5

Had a real good time. Only problem (it wasn't a big problem) was that we couldn't get the TV in living room to work. It would turn on, but we couldn't change the channels. We have stayed at Lucy's several time in the past and this was the only time that this has happened. The remote control for that TV is rather complicated. However, there are 2 other TVs, one in each bedroom. We watched movies on my laptop. No inconvience. We had a good time and will be returning.

-Tim on 01/15/2011

 

"Quiet, private and beautiful"

5 of 5

Our stay was very relaxing. Wonderful for privacy and very peaceful.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/16/2010

 

"Total relaxation on austin Creek"

5 of 5

Beautiful property with great amenities: large deck with comfortable deck furniture for lounging and eating; clean hot tub; large lawn to play badminton and football with the kids, comfy hammock; amazing creek access for splashing, wading, catching minnows and frogs, skipping rocks, lounging in the chairs with the outdoor firepit, and eating wild blackberries. Home interior was nice, great to have VCR/DVD for movies, but we didn't have "time" to watch TV! Kitchen fully stocked, but not enough room to put groceries for the week in cupboards. They need a food cupboard that's left empty for guests. Portable dishwasher was too much of a hassle, so we just hand washed. Nice to have central heat as it got chilly in the evenings. Only real criticism was the mattresses -- they need to be replaced -- made sleeping difficult and so some of us were a bit tired during the day from lack of sleep. Overall a wonderful, comfortable place to relax and rejuvenate.

Manager Response:

We tested and couldn't find anything wrong with the mattresses, and this is the first complaint, so probably a matter of taste. -rkl

-Vacationing Family of Four on 08/27/2010

 

"Great time!"

5 of 5

We took our two kids, our two dogs, and had a great time at Lucy's Lair. The kids loved the house, hot tub, and yard. The dogs loved the creek! We collected rocks on the rockbed and had a bedtime bonfire our last night. The house is really well equipped both in the kitchen, bedrooms, as well as technologically. It has great plug-in speakers that worked with our iPhone for relaxing vacation tunes. Highly recommended!

-jhbarton on 04/22/2010

 

"Lucy's Lair"

5 of 5

We really enjoyed the house. It is very well stocked with nice kitchen items; the stove is great! The hot tub was lovely, the grounds are gorgeous. I highly recommend this house.

-Stephanie on 04/13/2010

 

"Lucy's Lair"

4 of 5

Mostly good feedback. In a beautiful setting. Well equipped kitchen, lovely deck, plenty of places to relax. Nestled in the redwoods. Biggest frustration is that it is promoted as a two bedroom home. The first bedroom was very nice. The second bedroom was small - there was cleaning equipment on one side of the closet - hadn't been moved for a while - was very dirty/dusty. The second side of the closet had a dresser inside filled with blankets. There was literraly no place to hang/store our clothes for a week - we were mad. Otherwise wonderful place/stay.

Manager Response:

Thanks for the feedback. The negative issues are completely taken care of now and we appreciate the comments. We want our houses to be as close to perfect as possible!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/26/2009

 

"Nice place and great creek access"

4 of 5

We stayed at Lucy's Lair with our 2 kids and 2 big Goldendoodles. They all loved the private and easy access to the creek in the backyard. The house has a convenient location -- close to the beach and close to town.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/22/2009

 

"Relaxing among the Redwoods."

5 of 5

Lovely home, excellent location. Nestled among the Redwoods, yet close enough to Guerneville and Russian River Wine Country.The entire home was well equipped; the very large deck overlooking the river was wonderful, especially the hot tub. We especially loved the Woodstove on the chilly June mornings.The staff at Russian River Getaways were exceptional from start to finish -- professional, friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

-Carol Montgomery on 07/09/2009