You are here

MALLARD MANOR

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
One Bedroom
One Bathroom
Leave Review

Description

Light-Filled, Architecturally Beautiful Riverfront Home, Dining Deck with Amazing River Views, Fireplace, Wall Heat, *Seasonal (July-Aug) Dock & Boats. Walk to Villa Grande Neighborhood Beach, Downtown Monte Rio Public Beach & Dining (1 mile, no sidewalks). Short Drive to Golf, Coast, Wine Tasting, Redwoods, Guerneville. WIFI. Keyless Entry. Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!

The living room, kitchen and dining area are open plan. The bedroom and bathroom are off the main living area. The deck has outdoor dining and opens from the dining area. From the front of the house, there's a patio with seating area and steps down to the *seasonal dock. House is approximately 800sf.

*This home has a seasonal river access and boat(s), generally July & August. Contact us for more information.

Winter 3-for-2 Special (Jan-Mar; President's Day excluded): Add a FREE 3rd night to a 2 night stay; 4+ nights 30% off.

Minimum Stay: 2 Nights EXCEPT 3 Nights President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day thru Sept 30, Christmas; 4 Nights Thanksgiving & New Year's. Summer: Up to 7 Nights June- Aug; Check-In Day is FRIDAY. Last minute shorter bookings sometimes available.

Max Occupancy: 4. Max Automobiles: 1. Quiet Hours 10pm-7am. No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #2022.

Amenities

  • Riverfront Property with Amazing River Views
  • 1 Bedroom (Queen)
  • + 1 Queen Sleeper (main living area)
  • 1 Bathroom (tub/shower)
  • Bed and Bath Linens (bar soap, shampoo, spa/beach towels not provided)
  • Wall Heat, Stone Fireplace (living room) (firewood not provided)
  • No Air Conditioning.
  • 1 Cable TV with DVD and VCR (living room)
  • Sound Bar Portable Speaker System
  • WIFI, Unlimited Domestic Long Distance
  • Hardwood Flooring, High Open-Beam Ceiling, Skylights
  • Dining Set (2)
  • Full Kitchen with Blender, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Cookware
  • Gas Stove, Coffee Grinder
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Gated Deck with Charcoal Grill (charcoal, light fluid, etc. not provided), Dining Set (seats 4), Loungers
  • Patio with Seating Area; Privacy Fencing from Street
  • *Stairs to Seasonal (July-Aug) Dock
  • Two Seasonal Boats: 1 Single Kayak, 1 Double Kayak
  • Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
  • Walk to Downtown Monte Rio, Public Beach with Off-Leash Area, Dining (1 mile, no sidewalks)
  • Short Drive to Golf, Hiking, Redwoods, Wine Tasting, Guerneville, Coast
  • Standard amenities for all homes are listed on "Before you Book."

Rates

Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6.

Total for booking will include the following charges:

$95 Cleaning Fee (includes linens)

12% Transient Occupancy Tax + 2% BIA Assessment

$50 Non-Refundable Damage Waiver Fee (covers up to $1,000 in accidental damage)

DatesMinimum StayNightly
07/26/17 - 08/21/172$199
08/22/17 - 08/31/172$199
09/01/17 - 09/15/172$199
09/16/17 - 09/30/172$199
10/01/17 - 11/20/172$199
11/21/17 - 11/25/174$199
11/26/17 - 12/21/172$199
12/22/17 - 12/25/173$199
12/26/17 - 12/28/172$199
12/29/17 - 01/01/183$199
01/02/18 - 01/31/182$199
02/01/18 - 02/14/182$199
02/15/18 - 02/19/183$199
02/20/18 - 02/28/182$199
03/01/18 - 03/31/182$199
04/01/18 - 04/30/182$199
05/01/18 - 05/23/182$199
05/24/18 - 05/31/183$199
06/01/18 - 06/05/183$199
06/06/18 - 06/26/187$199
06/27/18 - 08/24/187$199
08/25/18 - 09/30/187$199
10/01/18 - 11/20/187$199

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Map & Area

Reviews

4.75
(4.8 Average)

"mallard manor"

4 of 5

we love it, clean comfy, great views, fun neighborhood to walk, so enjoyable. well equipped. sleeping and beds could be improved.

-donnavone on 05/31/2017

 

"The best we've ever stayed in. "

5 of 5

Stayed Mar 19 2017 to Mar 22 2017
It was like coming home from a grocery shopping trip. Everything we could possibly need was right there. We just put the groceries away. We're amazed that so many treasures and artifacts are everywhere for visitors to enjoy. The rooms were comfortable, the view of the river right below us..........wow! Even the rain was enjoyable. We loved our stay in Mallard Manor.

-Carlo Ramos (VRBO reviewer) March 2017 on 03/22/2017

 

"Russian River"

5 of 5

Great spot! Just the right distance to town and right on the River! Redwoods, beach, vineyards! Perfect for a couple or a small family. Love this area.

Manager Response:

We are so glad that you found our Mallard Manor home to be such a great spot for your river getaway. Our home is a very special river front cottage and yes, you are right, it is perfect for a couple or small group. It is also very nice to hear that you enjoyed the redwoods, the surrounding areas and of course, the wine.

We would like to welcome you back to Mallard Manor or to any of our other homes again, when you need another visit to Sonoma. Russian River wine country is always a good idea.

Thank you again,
Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 03/20/2017

 

"A Great Spot"

5 of 5

Stayed Mar 10 2017 to Mar 13 2017
Great spot right on the Russian River!! Close to everything but far enough to get nice quite deck time. Place is perfect if you're looking for a little place to escape to.

-Matthew Myers (VRBO reviewer), Mar 2017 on 03/13/2017

 

"Very, very relaxing."

5 of 5

The house is adorable, decoration and amenities made us feel like home, away from home.Beautiful place to bond with nature. We enjoyed it inmensly.Forget about WIFI or phone, you won't need it.Looking forward to comeback.

-willo750 on 05/17/2016

 

"Chillaxin' in Monte Rio"

5 of 5

Mallard Manor is perched right on top of a beautiful stretch of the Russian River. The views from the house and the deck are unbeatable. The private dock is a highlight, with two kayaks included for guest use. The house is perfect for a couple with a dog or two. There is a dog beach right up the river a bit, a couple great grocery stores in Monte Rio, and a bar or two. We didn't try the restaurants because we brought all our own food, wine and beer. Lots of great hiking is right nearby. We hiked the Willow Creek Preserve. The ocean is about a 15 minute drive away. The wi-fi and cable all worked great. Bird watching was fabulous. You can't get a more peaceful or tranquil setting. Do yourself a favor and try this place. We'll definitely be returning.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/05/2015

 

"Location, location: large Deck & river access. So tranquil."

4 of 5

The large deck and access to the river were the highlights of this home! The stairs (52 of them) to the river are steep and will give a workout if you aren't in shape. But once you get to the dock, simply unlock the kayaks and you are paddling along the peaceful river. We spied a river otter twice, a bald eagle every day, and enjoyed watching the osprey who lives in the tree across from the house. The kitchen is well equipped (pans & spices)but no dishwasher. The master bed is decent. There are actually 2 pullout couches: one is okay (Not great, as you can feel the bar) and didn't try the other. But you could just sleep on the couch, which was comfortable. The house came with bikes, as well as kayaks. Large deck, plenty of chairs, and a charcoal BBQ. We brought our small dog and he loved it. While the yard is fenced from the street, they are not confined. They can go down to the riverbank and escape to the neighbors yard... Overall, tranquil. Would definitely return.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/05/2014

 

"Great place!"

4 of 5

Really liked mallard manor. Very convenient. The setting is beautiful - sunny but lots of trees without feeling closed in.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/26/2014

 

"not at all great for kids"

3 of 5

Mallard Manor was a very nice place for a couple,beautiful views, very nice decor,warm and cozy and has many amenities for the guests. But for us with 3 small children it was just not the place to stay.We had to relocate to a different cabin last minute. We came in off season so the dock was not out. There was no room for the kids to play or throw a ball. Thetes not a lot of sunshine, the deck was a long fall down and it was hanging over the water and the cabin it self was fairly small for a family of 4 plus a one year old. We also would've liked a spa. It was a nice cabin but just did not work for us. I also didnt like tge idea of leaving our vehicle out on the street that was a very narrow street.

Manager Response:

Sounds like you are correct that this was not the right home for you. I hope you were moved to a place that worked better for your family. Thanks for the review. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 03/09/2014

 

"Great little house"

5 of 5

This house is very cute with great views of the river. Nice fireplace with a workable kitchen. A large fence around the property give you plenty of privacy and although the house is right on a road we heard no street noise (most likely because of the 8' high fence. If you have dogs please note their are spaces for the dogs to go into the neighbors yards which is also a rental.What could make it better: Having the place stocked with firewood would be nice as well as having someone come in before we got there and turned on the heat to at least 55 degrees so it wasn't so cold.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/16/2014

 

"The lodging was comfortable"

3 of 5

The deck was covered with tree debris when I arrived. I called the office about this and was told that it had been cleaned two days earlier and that there would an additional charge to clean it now. Shouldn't it be cleaned before I arrive? I was also told that there might be a blower in storage shed.The wifi didn't work. My Iphone connected to linksys but linksys connected to nothing

Manager Response:

Thanks for your review. The debris is constant in the redwoods, so it wouldn't matter if it had been cleaned that day or the day before. We once had a great review by a woman who described being mad that the deck was not cleaned prior to her arrival (even though it had been). She cleaned the deck herself with a broom, and then realized that, within a half hour, it was just as debris covered as when she arrived. Next time, please call about the wifi, so we can help you get that fixed. -Rachel

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/10/2013

 

"Great Week"

5 of 5

Great cabin on the river. Everything was as it should be. Nothing left undone. Kayaked everyday. Enjoyed the wonderful deck, very private. Whoever said in one review they could not close the blinds easily. Are you kidding, why would you ever, it is so beautiful to look out and no one can see in. The place is perfect! Our golden loved the kayak, only complaint, I fell out when he saw the ducks.

Manager Response:

Thanks for your review. We're glad you and your golden enjoyed Mallard Manor and the ducks! Come back soon. -Rachel

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/09/2013

 

"Tranquil and Cozy"

5 of 5

My family has been renting Mallard Manor for years - it's dog friendly, cozy, perched right on the river and has incredible views. This stay was just as wonderful as the last - despite the off-season and lack of deck/kayak, we still managed to stay entertained and relaxed all weekend. Fav things to do here? Cook dinner/BBQ on the deck, drink coffee on the deck in the morning, lighting a fire at night, reading on the deck, board games in front of the fire...

-KMiller on 04/11/2013

 

"Nice Little Place to Feel Like Your alone"

4 of 5

We were looking to "get away' from the day to day for a bit and this place was great for that. Felt open & comfortable. Nice surprise to see most items needed were already offered for use in the house. Only down side we found was our dogs could not really play in the front due to the open fence line with a deep drop. This was stated on the website, so it was our fault really for not bringing the portable fence.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/03/2013

 

"Great time on the Russian River"

5 of 5

We really enjoyed our Thanksgiving vacation at Mallard Manor! We made a big meal, thanks for all the amenities. Very clean, nice cabin with a wonderful deck overlooking the morning fog on the russian river. Location is close to town and easy to access. We loved taking our dogs, thank you for allowing them to visit with us. We will have to go back in the summer when the dock and boats are out. It's a little hard to fish from the bottom of the stairs but no biggie, there is a fishing beach just down the road. No fish caught though. Too busy enjoying the cabin and the relaxing getaway. Will return! :)

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/05/2012

 

"A very Zen experience"

5 of 5

This was a cozy and quiet location. At this time of yearthe weather was mild and the deck was perfectly located for maximum sunlight, and enjoying our purchases from the vine stores.The kitchen was well appointed, Internet connection was perfect and furniture was uncluttered.The items which were somewhat harder to navigate were the following - the lock box impossible to close, would have helped to have a railing at entrance stairs, too many slippery light weight rugs, too much stuff on the window sills which fell when closing shades, shades that were too difficult to lift ( afraid they would fall if pulled ). We also felt that it was not easy or reasonable to ask guests, and especially older and physically impaired people, to drag out trash bins out to street and water plants around the house.The comments above are just observations from travelers who have rented homes and condos all over the us, Canada andPacific Islands for the last 35 years. It is still the best way to travel and we were happy to spend the time in your part of the world.Tamara

Manager Response:

We're glad you enjoyed our little corner of the world and Mallard Manor in particular. We'll check out the shades to make sure they're in good shape. Watering plants is not required, but the trash does have to come out. It's the only way we can work it around here. -general manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/31/2012

 

"mallard manor"

3 of 5

Nice home and true to description. However, the most uncomfortable bed you can imagine. We chose to sleep on the couches (not ideal for a romantic getaway). Relaxing environment (except for when neighbor was doing construction on home and putting in a new dock). Loved sitting on the deck enjoying the river views and wildlife.

Manager Response:

We're glad you enjoyed Mallard Manor and sorry that the bed did not work for you. We often find that bed comfort is a matter of taste, but we will definitely check it out asap. We are a resort area, so most homes are in neighborhoods, where, sometimes, construction happens, but fortunately for a limited time. -General Manager

-kcamalo on 05/16/2012

 

"A great river view and a lovely place to unwind."

4 of 5

We thought the house had the perfect location on Moscow Road. Very quiet and private, with a perfect dog-walking neighborhood down the street and up the hill. The coded lock box made check-in really easy. The house itself was a mixed bag of cheap typical rental garbage fixtures and totally delightful amenities. We loved the deck overlooking the river and the two reading nooks and that's where we spent our time.

Manager Response:

Excellent that you liked Mallard Manor so well. Based on the rest of your wording, I'm hoping that you didn't mean "garbage" as negatively as it could be read. While not every house we have is super high end, none of our homes, including this one, is shabbily done. --General Manager

-mvalentine on 05/09/2012

 

"Return is a must!"

5 of 5

My wife I 11 year old son and English Bulldog, found everything perfect for what we needed on our vacation. Mallard Manor is the pefect spot, huge redwwods surround the cabin, from the deck we watched the Harbour seals swim up and down river hunting steelhead. There is nothing negative for us to say about our stay at the cabin or the staff at rrgetaways.com. We will return for sure. Thanks again for a wonderful experiance. Some reviews commented about the difficulty in accessing cabin upon arrival. We found no problem, but you must bring the documents they advise you to bring. Randy B. Discovery Bay, Ca

Manager Response:

Wow, sounds like you had a very special experience with the house and the seals! Please do come back. -rkl

-Randy Brooksher on 01/11/2012

 

"Beautiful home !"

5 of 5

We loved Mallard Manor and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Manager Response:

And we look forward to having these folks back! So glad they enjoyed the house. -rkl

-Gareth B on 10/13/2011

 

"Always Magical"

5 of 5

We retreat to Mallard Manor each year because it fulfills our need for beauty and tranquility - viewing the river and bird sanctuary amid the lush redwoods. There is always a blue heron and snowy egret on the sandbar across the river from the spacious deck. Mallards fly low. There are the occasional river otters. We came in late September this year with chilly nights, and enjoyed three evenings of the living room fireplace. No TV required. The cabin is esthetically satisfying, with beautiful woven throw rugs on cherrywood floors, a kitchen and living space so easy to use with endless views from all the many windows.

Manager Response:

This is exactly the experience we hope our guests have, and we're very happy to have been able to provide it. We look forward to having these guests back again next year (or maybe sooner!). -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/12/2011

 

"lovely"

5 of 5

What a wonderful place to stay...cozy, clean, just really comfortable with everything one needs. Loved the location for walking into the little town "center" of Monet Rio. Kayak is an added treat. We had a little trouble with the thermostat for the heater the first night, but the emergency on call person (we forgot her name) came out promptly and fixed it for us. Thank you! We will be back.

Manager Response:

Excellent that these guests enjoyed this lovely home and it's location close to town. Thanks for staying with us! -rkl

-Anne on 10/09/2011

 

"it is beautiful, comfortable and quiet."

5 of 5

We've been going to Mallard manor for about seven years. My family owned a cabin when I was growing up so now we rent for a long weekend once a year. We love it up there and the cabin is right on the river. it's great and so peaceful.

-Katherine Denise Valerio on 09/22/2011

 

"revitalizing getaway!"

4 of 5

3 adults and 2 Babies. We loved the location right on the river, with the river view from all of the windows. Beautiful redwoods surrounding the house. Breathtaking night sky with bright stars, millions of them. The deck is a great addition to the house, we spent most of the time on the deck. Nice outside furniture. The house is nicely remodeled, with tasteful accessories and a cozy feel. It has everything you'll possibly need, except food, it even has the water filter for you to have drinking water!!! It feels like home. A little bothersome was the smell of mold in the bedroom, we would suggest replacing the old carpet. Also the couches/slippers in the living room, sleep-able if you have been kayaking all day, but not comfortable at all. The bed in the bedroom is good for sleeping. Also the curtain on the shower window would be a good idea, unless you enjoy all the people driving up the hill taking a pick. Having a private dock and a kayak was a great, great plus!!! Also washer and drier, great to have, when you're there for an entire week. It was a little cold, but very revitalizing and healing getaway.

Manager Response:

Our cleaner and our inspector could smell nothing, and there's no visual mold. The mattress on the sleeper had a topper added recently, so I think this is a matter of taste. Some people like it, some people don't, but no sleeper is as good as a real bed. There's no way to see a person in the bathroom from the road, so a curtain would add no privacy. -rkl

-Nina on 09/16/2011

 

"Feels Like Home"

4 of 5

We have stayed at Mallard Manor several times before, so when we arrive it feels somewhat like coming to our own cabin on the river. It is the perfect size for two though we also stayed in the past with our then college-age daughter. The house feels very private; the adjacent houses aren't really visible from the property. We like the little eccentricities like the big window seat in the bedroom and the greenhouse window in the bathroom. We also like the bikes, dock and kayak being available when the weather is warm. A few of the kitchen utensils etc. are beginning to show some wear, but all is clean and tidy, so it's not really a problem. I would like to see a bigger dutch oven-style cooking pot for pasta, stew etc because we like tocook on one or more nights of our stay, and a coffee grinder would be nice too, but most of our needs are well taken care of at Mallard Manor.

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed this home. There is a coffee grinder and a large pot, so I think they were just hiding. Next time, if you call us, we'll help you find them. -GM

-A Place to Revisit on 09/15/2011

 

"Mallard Manor - Monte Rio"

4 of 5

Mallard Manor was very cute, but there was some dog hair around and some of the blankets smelled like dog. For someone who doesn't have a dog this was not good. Also the oven was broken, it just never got hot. Also we tried to turn on the heat and I don't think that worked either. We were hoping to have the deck be more sunny, which we were told but there was never really a sunny time of day for the deck.

Manager Response:

Whether there is sun on the deck depends on the time of day and the time of year. We will relate the complaint about dog hair to the cleaner. We do strive to make sure our homes are cleaned to a high standard, so, if they're not, we want to fix the problem. That said, we don't really know the extent of the problem because we didn't have the chance to see for ourselves. The blankets were dirty, and the cleaner didn't see them because they were folded up in a closet, and people don't usually use those extras in the summer so we don't check them. We ask people to bring their own for dogs, but not everyone does. In any case, they are clean now. The stove has been repaired. The heat turned on and off when we checked, so probably user error. If these guests had let us know about these things when we were in the home, we would have helped them. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/14/2011

 

"Enjoyed our stay"

5 of 5

It was a sweet place. It had a well-stocked kitchen and a comfortable bed and furniture. A bottle of wine was waiting for us when we arrived which made it special. It was just the two of us and our dog. It is rather small but a perfect size for us and a great stay for two adults and 2 small children. It was a perfect layout so our dog would be out on the deck and we would not have to worry about him wandering off. There isn't any grassy area for play. Just around the corner is public access to a beach area. It is hidden so I would suggest asking about it. There are about 20 stairs to the dock, which wasn't a problem for us but I would hang on the kid's hands. BTW, the bathroom has been updated.

-Lilydog17 on 09/05/2011

 

"Wonderful!"

5 of 5

I was so impressed with how organized everything was! Checking in and out was a breeze. All the instructions were so clear and easy to follow. The cottage was delightful and we had a wonderful relaxing time in spite of the rain!! My question is...was that bottle of wine in the frig for us? Weren't sure so we didn't touch it. A little welcome note would be nice if it was truly for us. Beds could have been a little more comfortable but were certainly doable. All in all a wonderful experience! (Loved all the windows and the fabulous light!) Thank you.

Manager Response:

We appreciate this lovely review. The bottle of wine was for you! Whatever food is in the refrigerator at a vacation rental is for guest use - at no extra charge! The owners just added pillowtops to both the bed and the sleeper in response to earlier complaints, so I think we'll just have to say that we can't please everyone when it comes to bed comfort. -rkl

-Dee on 07/09/2011

 

"Beautiful and peaceful setting,"

4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. The boys loved the direct access to the water from the dock. Having breakfast on the deck when the river's wildlife wakes up was just priceless.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/30/2011

 

"Cute House, good location, uncomfortable bed"

4 of 5

The house is really cute and pretty much as described. All the outside pictures are in the front yard, which you don't really get from the photos. I went at the end of May and was extremely disappointed that the dock and kayaks were not set up yet. I would double check with agent before booking to check on this. Because without the dock, you have absolutely no water access and that's part of the perks of staying on the river! The house was very nice and cute. The master bed is extremely unconfortable and I would recommend bringing something to put on top of it to soften it up. It was like sleeping on a plywood. Besides that, it was great. Cute kitchen that looks over hte dock. My friend and I stayed here and we love to cook and drink and it worked perfectly! I would probably stay here again, but I would be prepared for the lack of kitchen utensils and the uncomfortable bed.

Manager Response:

We're glad these guests enjoyed the house. The dock could not go in because of so much late rain - there was really no way to predict this. The owner has added pillowtops to the bed and the sleeper. We're a little puzzled about the kitchen stuff as this home's kitchen is fully loaded. -rkl

-Anon on 05/25/2011

 

"Cozy Cottage"

5 of 5

This home is small but very comfortable for us and our adult daughter and family dog. The location is perfect for walking our dog and just relaxing by the river.

-Linda Suarez on 04/14/2011

 

"Mallard Manor was great"

4 of 5

house, deck and dock were great. Good location. The only negative was that the house had too much stuff in it.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/06/2010

 

"Fantastic."

5 of 5

This was a quaint and cozy house, and the direct access to the river from the backyard was fantastic. It is also close to the Monte Rio beach where additional rentals for kayaks and/or canoes are convenient. The house was clean, well decorated and very visitor friendly, and there was enough distance between houses so that you are not flanked by neighbors. The only downside was that we couldn't stay longer.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/05/2010

 

"Escape from Reality"

5 of 5

My husband and I lead a busy and stressful life and we just love coming to the Russian River area to relax and unwind. Mallard Manor was perfect for us - not too large, not too small, just right! The keyless entry system is very convenient. The view of the River is a 10.We spent so much time in the tandem kayak that we never even made it to the bikes.Great amenities, great Monte Rio location, great stay. The only tiny negative was the traffic noise but we were so tired from kayaking all day we had no trouble sleeping through it.

Manager Response:

All riverfront homes have some traffic noise, as the roads run along the river to reach the houses! -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/30/2010

 

"A Perfect Spot"

4 of 5

A delightful house with all mod-cons overlooking the Russian River. Remote enough for peace and quiet yet close to a nearby store and Guerneville just down the road. Kayaking, swimming and fishing all enjoyed (although really the wrong time of year for fishing). Dvd entertained the kids in the evening and the deck was perfect to hang out and enjoy the sun. Plenty of wildlife to watch and stunning scenery. Would definitely stay again

-S. Sculthorp on 07/29/2010

 

"Very relaxing"

4 of 5

This was a great place to stay with our pup. Every morning we were able to take long walks in The Terraces which is like walking a trail through a forest. Downside was the long staircase down to a very small riverside area and dock. Turned out to be more troublesome than it was worth with a dog in tow. During the days we'd head to Armstrong Redwood Park for more hiking or to Jenner to a remote beach. We would definitely come back.

-Puphiker on 10/01/2009

 

"relaxing with a view"

4 of 5

light, open floorplan home was comfortable with a great view of the river, a huge plus to kayak from our own dock. Quiet location, yet close to Monte Rio and Guernevelle shops. Would have been perfect except for the hard mattress and CD player that didn't work properly.

Manager Response:

Owner has added pillowtops to the bed and sleeper , and the CD player works fine now. -rkl

-LL on 08/07/2009

 

"Looking for a retreat? This is it!"

5 of 5

I was looking for some true "down" time in a beautiful setting. Mallard Manor is definitely it! The home is comfortable and clean with views of the Russian River and redwood trees. No cell phone or Blackberry reception - - if you need to be in touch, bring a laptop and use the WiFi. But you won't want to be in touch! You'll want to enjoy the location and relax! For a single person or a couple, it's perfect. I do highly recommend Mallard Manor.

Manager Response:

Just a note about cell phones: Verizon does work here!

-VP on 06/10/2009

 

"Peaceful seclusion!"

5 of 5

We spent an extremely peaceful extended weekend at Mallard Manor during a local wine event. We stayed at other properties offered by the Russian River Getaways group, however, this was by far the most peaceful place we found to date. The location of the house is perfect for those that want to escape the crowds and noise of the city. It is set back from the main highway and sits nearly right on top of the river. We were pleasantly surprised with the cozy feel of this home that permeated every indoor room and outdoor patio. We wished we had more time to linger on the deck that faces the river as it is perfect for lounging. The wildlife viewing is excellent as we were lucky enough to see many birds, ducks, herons and what appeared to be a baby seal at the river's shoreline right in front of the cottageThe stairway down to the water is very steep so I would not recommend this to anyone that has any physical ailments or cannot easily climb steep stairs.The only drawback is that the neighbor's properties are fairly close on both sides and the yard is small with a very steep drop off down to the river. So, if you are looking for a place with lots of yard space for picnicing and lounging with a larger group then this might not be the place for you. However, if you are looking for a cozy, quiet and romantic place to relax then this is your spot!

Manager Response:

Krista, thank you so much for your feedback. Just wanted to say that "baby seal" you saw was probably a river otter, a rare sighting and always a privilege to see, even for those of us who live here.

-KristaS on 05/11/2009

 

"Privacy and Serenity"

5 of 5

I've lost track of how many times I've stayed at this wonderful little house. Never disappoints. Extremely peaceful and private with outstanding views. And I love Monte Rio -- wonderfully situated.

-Kate on 03/18/2009