You are here

NORTH STAR

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
3 Bedrooms
2.5 Bathrooms
Leave Review

Description

Immaculate, Spacious, Contemporary Riverfront Home, Forest View, Hot Tub, Central Heat/Air Conditioning, Gas Fireplace. Short Walk to Seasonal Neighborhood Beach & Boat; Short Drive to Downtown G'ville, Wine Tasting, Golf, Hiking, Redwoods, Coast. WIFI. Keyless Entry. Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!

The entry level of this home is up a flight of steps. The spacious living room has a dining area and is open to the kitchen in an L with bar seating between. There's a half bath on this floor. The living area opens to the lower deck, outdoor dining, and hot tub. On the second level, there are two bedrooms and a full bathroom. On the third level, there's another full bathroom and bedroom with its own deck. The upper deck and lower deck are connected by an exterior staircase. From the yard, there's a path to the seasonal neighborhood beach. Note the rear yard is completely wooded and not useable. This home is approximately 2000sf.

*This home has a seasonal river access and boat(s). Contact us for more information.

Winter 3-for-2 Special (Jan-Mar; President's Day excluded): Add a FREE 3rd night to a 2 night stay; 4+ nights 30% off.

Minimum Stay: 2 Nights EXCEPT 3 Nights President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day thru Sept 30, Christmas, New Year's; 4 Nights Thanksgiving. Summer: Up to 7 Nights June- Aug; Check-In Day is THURSDAY. Last minute shorter bookings sometimes available.

Max Occupancy: 10. Max Automobiles: 3. Quiet Hours 10pm-7am. No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #2025.

Amenities

  • Riverfront Property, Forest View; Walk to Beach
  • 3 Bedrooms (#1 two queens; #2 queen; #3 two queens)
  • 2.5 Bathrooms (#1 tub/shower; #2 tub/shower; #2.5 half bath)
  • Central Heat, Gas Fireplace (living room)
  • Ceiling Fans (bedrooms)
  • 3 Cable TVs (42" Flatscreen Plasma w/DVD in living room; #2 & 3 in bedrooms)
  • WIFI; Unlimited Domestic Long Distance
  • Stereo with CD Player (living room)
  • Hardwood Flooring, High Open-Beam Ceiling
  • Dining Set (10)
  • Gas Stove, Dishwasher
  • Coffee Grinder, Ice Maker
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Keyless Entry
  • Upper Deck with Dining Set (4)
  • Lower Deck with Dining Set, Gas Grill, Loungers, Hot Tub
  • Short Walk to Seasonal Neighborhood Beach
  • One Seasonal Boat: 1 Double Kayak
  • Two Car Garage
  • Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
  • Short Drive to Wine Tasting, Golf, Coast, Guerneville, Hiking
  • Standard amenities for all homes are listed on "Before you Book."

Rates

Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6.

Total for booking will include the following charges:

$160 Cleaning Fee (includes linens)

12% Transient Occupancy Tax + 2% BIA Assessment

$75 Non-Refundable Damage Waiver Fee (covers up to $2,000 in accidental damage)

DatesMinimum StayNightly
04/01/17 - 04/30/172$349
05/01/17 - 05/24/172$349
05/25/17 - 05/31/173$349
06/01/17 - 06/14/173$349
06/15/17 - 07/26/177$349
07/27/17 - 08/31/173$349
09/01/17 - 09/30/173$349
10/01/17 - 11/20/172$349
11/21/17 - 11/25/174$349
11/26/17 - 12/21/172$349
12/22/17 - 12/25/173$349
12/26/17 - 12/28/172$349
12/29/17 - 01/01/183$349
01/02/18 - 01/31/182$349
02/01/18 - 02/14/182$349
02/15/18 - 02/19/183$349
02/20/18 - 02/28/182$349
03/01/18 - 03/31/182$349
04/01/18 - 04/30/182$349
05/01/18 - 05/23/182$349
05/24/18 - 05/31/182$349
06/01/18 - 06/05/182$349
06/06/18 - 06/26/182$349
06/27/18 - 08/24/182$349

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
April 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Map & Area

Reviews

4.5
(4.5 Average)

The house was really spacious and easily accommodated our large group.

5
We loved our stay at the North Star! The living room and kitchen were very spacious. We loved the deck and the hot tub. This is a great place to host a large group and was within 10 minutes of town and close to many wineries. (VRBO reviewer)
Melissa Luke (VRBO reviewer), March 2017

"Week on the river"

3 of 5

We enjoyed our week stay at Northstar. The house is large with three levels that allow for both private and public space. Two decks with lots of foliage insured privacy in this tightly pack residential neighborhood. Beach access is a short walk from the house and we took advantage of the kayak provided. Although there were many water "toys" stored in the garage, many were damaged and a pump was not available for those that were useable. If you plan to cook, be sure to bring your own condiments, foil etc., as the kitchen is not well stocked with those items. You will need a car to get into town; besides the river, the area is residential with narrow streets and driving is required. The house was clean, although the upstairs shower drained slowly until my husband removed the "gunk" in it. Also, the refrigerator door opens on the wrong side making it difficult to get in/out of.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/10/2015

 

"Great Getaway!"

5 of 5

Awesome three night visit. Beautiful, well appointed house. Plenty of space and lovely private deck. Kitchen was well stocked with all the gadgets and amenities you need (one note: no coffee grinder, so bring pre-ground coffee). We will definitely be back!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/05/2015

 

"Wonderful ,wacky weekend"

5 of 5

We are the 3 W'S group - our 2ND year here at north starand we look forward to our 3RD as well. Always a good stay just wish it was longer. House is great layout lets all of us enjoy everything about why we are there.Truly no worries..Hot tub,nice Kitchen-nd to bring small items if you require them tho.Tv,internet,music-could not enjoy tho. Could not find the volume after rereading all Paperwork-2nd YR too...But we brought our own music. bEEN coming to this region since we were children & we still have great times just like we were kids again ...Awesome setting! See you next year RR :)

Manager Response:

I love this story of coming every year since you were kids. I came to the River as a kid too, then my mom moved here (and started Russian River Getaways), then I moved here (and started running Russian River Getaways), and now I get to spend my days making it possible for other people to enjoy the River as well. What will my daughter do?? Thanks for your great review and your love of North Star. Next time let us help you with whatever you're needing help with. That's why we're here! -Rachel

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/02/2013

 

"disapointing...feels like we were lied to..."

1 of 5

i just rented this property during the week of July 4th. The house itself is pretty nice- good kitchen (more on that later), decent bedrooms, everything worked, etc. But...there is now view of anything from the decks- which have trees encroaching onto them that very badly need to be trimmed back. the photos probably date from several years ago when the trees were maintained.we also didn't have a basic fry/sautee pan in the kitchen, which is kind of the one pan you need when you're trying to prepare almost anything. i called the rental company twice, and nobody ever took care of it.and lastly, and most importantly- the property is touted as having access to a private or shared beach...the beach is essentially a muddy, rocky cliff, with an unkempt, thorny, uneven, path, which is at some points about 12 inches wide. even if the water level of the river was high enough to make the beach actually something resembling a beach, it would be very difficult for a family with kids to lug all their stuff down an almost non-existent trail. my 2 year old got scraped by some thorns, and had to be carried back up the trail by my wife...why is this such a big deal? because i'm disabled, which i explained to the rental company when we rented the property. So getting down to the non-existent beach was pretty much impossible for me, and i feel like in their eagerness to rent the property, and in the photos and description, the property was mis-represented. so, thus the one star rating.

Manager Response:

We did refund for what was essentially an error in communication between you and a booking agent, who cannot really be expected to judge the extent of the special requirements of anyone's disability. The path, beach, and view from decks are documented in photos and description on the website. The view is of trees, which keep the decks private from the beach, not river. If they are overgrown, that will be remedied. As we say in multiple places on the website and house documents, we do not control the River. The dams were not in yet, the water level was low. River beaches are generally rustic, but this one has a number of different areas, some steep and sandy, some flat and shallow and gravelly. I am sorry about the frying pan; we religiously respond to everything, so I'm not sure what happened. We will make sure the house is supplied with one for the future. I'm glad you are returning, this time to a home that will hopefully fit your needs better. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-myprotagonist on 07/16/2013

 

"Nice, Clean, Comfortable House in Guerneville with a Jacuzzi!"

5 of 5

Ten of us fit in this home comfortably. The size of the home allowed for plenty of space to spread out. Nice tv, stereo system and a great kitchen for cooking. Two great decks! The Jacuzzi was a huge bonus! Clean and convenient. Was very surprised at how updated and nice the house was upon arrival.Short (5 minute) walk down to a semi-private beach. Kayaks included with the home made for fun water activities during the day. Highly recommend renting North Star if you are looking for a place in the Russian River Valley.

Manager Response:

North Star is the perfect home for large family get togethers. The main room with the dining area and kitchen combined makes for a perfect social arena. It's such a great location too...far enough away from the little village of Guerneville yet close enough to kayak to!
Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/05/2013

 

"It was ok for winter, not summer when you want to be on river"

3 of 5

I was disappointed with the house as it states a river front home. It is on the river but not visible from house and a little hike down an path thru 5 houses.The house was spacious but pictures of yard should be updated. The yard does not have any grass area, I was planning to have a Easter egg hunt for the kids but it was over grown an no grass. The yard is so over grow it closes in the deck. We also did see any loungers to relax in. Also the kitchen needs to stock a cutting board larger than 6 inches.We als

Manager Response:

There is a path to the river from the side yard of this home, and it is a very short walk. Sounds like you did not find this and took the public path down the street. As explained on the website, there is little to no river view on this stretch of beach, as this maintains privacy from the neighborhood beach. There are no photos of the yard, nor is it listed in description or amenities, since there is no yard. For photos, I think perhaps you must be talking about the little corner of view off the deck, which does look like grass, but is in fact, just foliage. I do apologize for this disappointment on Easter. The loungers were probably not put out, as it's rained up until last week. Next time call, and we can help you find anything that's missing. We will let the owner know about the overgrowth and cutting board. -Rachel

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/10/2013

 

"North Star Weekend"

3 of 5

The house was as described. Unfortunately, there were a couple inconveniences during the weekend. 1. The dishwasher did not work. In fact, I checked the circuit breaker, because the garbage disposal also was not working. I found that the switch for those two appliances was in the off position. I turned it on, hoping that it would power on the dish washer; which it did, but the dishwasher still did not work and only made an annoying buzzing sound.2. One of our guests tried to pull into the garage, and the way that the driveway and garage is designed, it makes it nearly impossible to pull into the garage without hitting your bumper on the cement. This actually caused a bit of damage to the car. We still had a ton of fun and tried to not let the inconveniences get to us. Check-in and check-out was easy, and overall our trip was good.

Manager Response:

The dishwasher has been fixed. If you call us, we will always do our best to make sure things are fixed during your stay, often the same day. The driveway is probably one of those that works well as long as your car is not too low to the ground.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/17/2013

 

"Nice house!"

5 of 5

I had a group of 10 to hold a retreat during the Christmas weekend and it was awesome. The house is big and there is plenty of room for everyone. Kitchen has everything we need to cook. Hot tub is fantastic. We even had a barbecue with the charcoal grill. I noticed some spider web on the roof so please take more care of that, but overall it's very clean.

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Rising Star. We do clean off the spiderwebs, but, this being the woods, there are always more spiders ready to fill in the gaps -rkl

-ST on 12/29/2011

 

"Quality house and great vacation"

5 of 5

This was our 5th rental in Guerneville, and it was the best so far. The quality of the house, furnishings, appliances and other equipment was definitely a higher class. The location is perfect for enjoying the river, with a choice of local beaches, yet only a short drive from Guerneville. If this place can be dog-friendly (which it is), then there's no reason why others cannot.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/24/2011

 

"enjoyable"

3 of 5

I left a description, on your paper form, in the house, as directed. The house was lovely. But there were several problems that I had cited.

Manager Response:

We'll check out the problems on the feedback form and fix whatever needs fixing. -rkl

-enjoyment on 07/01/2011

 

"Great house, but wish we had a yard."

4 of 5

We were a group of 10. Had plenty of room, the living room was massive. The home was very comfy, the a/C came in very handy. Hot tub, BBQ, appliances all worked fine.The only thing we were dissapointed with was the lack of any yard to roam around in. We ended up going down to the dead end of our street to throw the football around. The hike to the beach was a bit of a walk, which was a bit of a burden while carrying the kayak, cooler, etc.Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay.

-Rick Roll on 06/10/2010

 

"Attractive, clean and convenient"

5 of 5

North Star is an attractive property tucked away off the southern bank of the Russian River in Guerneville and it served as a wonderful base of operations for our wine-tasting experience. The house was clean and nicely appointed, with great amenities. While the bedrooms don't have a lot of character the beds were comfortable and main living area/kitchen was perfect for cooking and socializing.

-robert.frazor on 10/29/2009

 

"Great house"

4 of 5

Great house, close walk to the beach. Great deck and bedrooms.

-rivergal on 09/24/2009

 

"Nice Location and Over All nice house."

3 of 5

There were a few problems. The house was not clean to our expectations. One example was long hair left in the upstairs bathroom. The drain was clogged, but we understand that could only be fixed unless you were notified.The sound system didn't work and the number left to call was not very helpful. One of our friends fixed it, we thought he should of been the one to get the 75 dollar service fee (grin).The hot tub was dirty when we arrived, and there were toys left inside, however again the guy came and cleaned it while we were staying there so it was not a disappointed the entire stay.Garbage was left in the garbage bins and we had no place to put our own garbage. We had to place it in the green garbage bins for compost to keep the raccoons out of it.All in the the house was great, but we felt it should of been cleaner with the price we paid.Thanks Erik Tweed

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/20/2009

 

"Spacious and fun for families"

4 of 5

The house was very spacious, and the kayak was great. Parking inside the garage was a plus since there were 3 cars for that house.Some improvements: The refrigerator is positioned very strangely. The handle of the refrigerator is right next to the kitchen stove, so when you open the refrigerator, you are very close to the stove (if the stove in on, you have to be careful). Also, the refrigerator was leaking from the inside, so we had to call the mgr. to make sure they knew it was like that when we rented the house.The other thing is that the bathrooms did not have bathing soap. I have stayed at other Russian river homes and they have provided soap for the showers. For the price we are paying, they could throw that in.The Bar-b-q was not working, according to Russian River Getaways, who called to tell us that. They should have had it fixed when we rented the place (they knew it was in that condition from a previous renter). Otherwise, our experience was very good.

Manager Response:

Thank you so much for the feedback. We did know the grill was broken and we called to ask these guests if they planned on grilling; if so, we would bring them a charcoal barbecue for the weekend since we could not replace the gas grill in time for their arrival. They told us they did not plan to grill. The new gas grill was assembled and in place for the next set of guests.

-Anonymous on 06/24/2009

 

"Great house for girls weekend"

4 of 5

This is a beautiful, modern house that comfortably sleeps ten. Check-in was easy, the house was private with nice furnishings, nice linens, great entertainment room. My party and I loved the secluded location, the large open common area, the decks, hot tubs, etc.. Easy walk to the river (although quite strenuous pulling the two-person kayak back to the house!). Some members of the party felt the beds were too firm, but I like them that way. The BBQ grill was terrible!!! The ignitor was broken, the gas lines clogged with grease and it wouldn't light for thirty minutes even with a long match. I had to remove the grates and use a flaming paper towel to get the gas to catch. Then it burned unevenly and left the food raw or black. Would have preferred a basic charcoal weber. I had planned a BBQ dinner for ten and had no choice but to use this broken piece of crap.The house sleeps ten, but only has room to park five cars (we had people coming from all over), neighbors came to door to complain about car in front of their house. Garbage cans were missing, neighbor said probably stolen. Would have liked to check out with a human being, but had to drop keys at a closed office.The long list of rules and possible fines is understandable, but put me on edge as I was the host and my name was on the bill. I was terrified of breaking one of their countless rules and it did distract me from trying to enjoy a relaxing weekend. The house itself is beautiful, and the Russian river is a great place to spend a few days. Would have liked to stay longer!

Manager Response:

Sara, we wish you had called us about the grill as soon as you noticed the problem. We would have delivered a Weber and charcoal right away. At any rate, we're installing a new gas grill this weekend and we're so sorry it was in such miserable condition. As soon as we get a report of this kind, we take care of it immediately.
And, of course, we regret having to have so many rules, but trust me we have learned the hard way that they are all necessary!

-SarahC on 06/19/2009