You are here

SEQUOIA RETREAT

Request info Add to Favorites Printer-friendly version
4 Bedrooms
2.5 Bathrooms
Leave Review

Description

Historic Craftsman Mountainside Resort Home with Redwood Forest & Mountain Views, Central Heat, Woodstove/Fireplaces, Fenced Yard, Lawn, *Seasonal Pool, Hot Tub; Walk to Downtown Guerneville, Beach; Short Drive to Wine Tasting, Hiking, Golf, Coast. WIFI. Keyless Entry. Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!

There are a few steps up to the lower veranda which wraps all the way around the house. On the lower floor, there's a formal living room. Across the entry hall, there's a half bath. Down a short hall from the entry, there's an open kitchen, dining area and sitting room. This room opens to the outdoor dining deck. Upstairs, there's a master suite with woodstove, its own bathroom and slider leading to the upper veranda. There are three other bedrooms, each with an exit to the veranda, and a hall bath. From the front door, there are a few steps down to the *seasonal swimming pool (unheated) and hot tub area with more outdoor dining, stonework patio, poolhouse bathroom, and lawn. Beyond the yard, there's a sunny meadow, and beyond that, mountainside and woods. Note there is a cottage just downhill of the property with a full-time tenant. There is visual privacy for the most part, but you can see the cottage from the veranda on the downhill, windowless end of the house and their parking area from the veranda's outdoor dining section. House is approximately 2300sf.

*Seasonal Pool Open May through September Only (unheated). The pool is unheated, but does get warm enough to swim in the summer, as it is in-ground (so retains heat) and gets full sun most of the day. Rate Discounted Off-Season.

Winter 3-for-2 Special (Jan-Mar; President's Day excluded): Add a FREE 3rd night to a 2 night stay; 4+ nights 30% off.

Minimum Stay: 2 Nights EXCEPT 3 Nights President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day thru Sept 30, Christmas, New Year's; 4 Nights Thanksgiving. Summer: Up to 7 Nights June- Aug; Check-In Day is MONDAY. Last minute shorter bookings sometimes available.

Max Occupancy: 8. Max Automobiles: 4. Quiet Hours 10pm-7am. No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #2039.

Amenities

  • Mountainside Property with Forest, Mountain Views
  • Craftsman Architecture; Eclectic Decor w/Antiques
  • 4 Bedrooms (#1master king; #2 queen; #3 queen; #4 two twins)
  • 2.5 Bathrooms (#1master shower only; #2 tub/shower (upstairs hall); #2.5 (downstairs half bath)
  • + Bathroom in Pool House with cold water shower, sink and toilet
  • Bed and Bath Linens (bar soap, shampoo, spa/beach towels not provided)
  • Central Heat (lower level), 2 Wood-Burning Fireplaces (living room, sitting room), Woodstove (master bedroom)
  • firewood not provided
  • No Air Conditioning.
  • 2 Satellite TV's (#1 24" in living room; #2 24" with VCR and DVD in master bedroom)
  • Stereo with CD Player, Tape Deck, Radio & Record Player
  • WIFI, Unlimited Domestic Long Distance
  • Dining Set (8)
  • Full Kitchen with Blender, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Cookware
  • Hardwood Flooring, Library of Books
  • Washer and Dryer
  • Wrap-Around Verandas with Seating Areas
  • Deck with Gas Grill, Dining Sets (8) off Kitchen
  • Keyless Entry
  • 21 Acres of Mixed Redwood Forest with Hiking Trails
  • Fully Fenced (4ft-6ft) Yard with Lawn (surrounds pool and hot tub, gated from house)
  • Seasonal (May-Sept) Unheated Swimming Pool (in-ground, oval approx. 38 x 19 x 3.5 to 8.5 deep, no cover)
  • Pool House with Bathroom (cold water shower, sink and toilet)
  • Poolside Patio with Shade Arbor, Outdoor Fireplace, Loungers, Dining Set (8), Charcoal Grill (charcoal, light fluid, etc. not pr
  • Seasonal Hammock
  • Lawn Area with Seating (outside fenced area, next to parking)
  • Meadow (up hill from the house)
  • Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
  • Walk to Downtown Guerneville, Johnsons Beach (0.6 miles, no sidewalks)
  • Short Drive to Hiking, Wine Tasting, Golf, Coast
  • Standard amenities for all homes are listed on "Before you Book."

Rates

Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6.

Rate is reduced when pool is out of service (Oct-Apr).

Total for booking will include the following charges:

$170 Cleaning Fee (includes linens)

12% Transient Occupancy Tax + 2% BIA Assessment

$75 Non-Refundable Mandatory Damage Waiver Fee covers $2,000 in accidental damage

DatesMinimum StayNightly
06/14/17 - 06/25/173$439
06/26/17 - 08/21/177$439
08/22/17 - 08/31/173$439
09/01/17 - 09/30/173$439
10/01/17 - 11/20/172$389
11/21/17 - 11/25/174$389
11/26/17 - 12/21/172$389
12/22/17 - 12/25/173$389
12/26/17 - 12/28/172$389
12/29/17 - 01/01/183$389
01/02/18 - 01/31/182$389
02/01/18 - 02/14/182$389
02/15/18 - 02/19/183$389
02/20/18 - 02/28/182$389
03/01/18 - 03/31/182$389
04/01/18 - 04/30/182$389
05/01/18 - 05/23/182$439
05/24/18 - 05/31/183$439
06/01/18 - 06/05/183$439
06/06/18 - 06/26/187$439
06/27/18 - 08/24/187$439
08/25/18 - 09/30/187$439

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
June 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2017
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
April 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Map & Area

Reviews

4.5
(4.5 Average)

"Gail's review"

5 of 5

We had a great time, hated to leave. Beautiful place. Exceeds all our expectations! Beautiful rooms, very clean, decorated very nice, hated to leave. Our whole family simply loved it. It was even more than I expected!

-Gailca1 on 06/23/2016

 

"Great House for a group"

5 of 5

The house was perfect for 7 of us for a long weekend. There were different areas to hang out in the house if you didn't all want to be together.Facing the pool there were a few chairs outside to sit and relax. On the back deck there is a table that fits 6 for outside dining or chilling.My favorite thing was the record player with some old albums.The bed rooms were all a good size. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook dinners at home.We didn't walk into town, but if you did, the driveway is fairly steep for the walk home.I would have liked if there were towels provided for the hot tub.

-Christine94117 on 03/24/2015

 

"Place to book!"

4 of 5

Great house, wonderful beds, pool was fantastic (we needed that for someone who really needsto swim). Kitchen stove:( Not so good. That's ok, I didn't cook but I like to and would have appreciated a more current kitchen. I really really loved the environment and the house!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/02/2014

 

"Fabulous Vacation Spot!"

4 of 5

This is the second year we rented this home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our family includes our dogs and we're delighted that Russian River Getaways welcomes dogs of all breeds. The house is comfy and well equipped and the pool is fantastic. Our only suggestion for improvement would be better lighting in the family room and den; reading in the evening can be a little bit of a challenge. And, a word of warning: there's a neighboring camp that hosts rowdy and very loud activities on Friday and Saturday nights that go well into the wee hours of the morning. Still, that won't stop us from staying here again.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/26/2014

 

"Ah-maze-ing!!!"

5 of 5

Annual Girls wine weekend trip - this is the 7th or 8th year. We've rented multiple properties from Russian River Getaways and each time we are never disappointed, but this year we were blown away! This cabin is so cozy & inviting. We loved everything about this place! The wraparound deck is to die for, the setting is perfectly beautiful. I enjoyed a nice little nap in the hammock on the second floor deck. We loved loved loved the record player - playing old school vinyl records every night. I have nothing but positive for this home - it was pure bliss. If I had anything negative at all to say it would simply be this - upgrade the iron to a newer one. That's it - the rest of the house is sheer perfection.

Manager Response:

Thanks so much for your lovely review, and I'm super happy you enjoyed your stay so much. Please do come back, and we'll pass the word on the iron on to the owners, as we do strive for perfection+! -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-Jennifer on 03/19/2014

 

"great vacation"

4 of 5

house was clean and large, it did smell musty when we arrived, but after we opened all the windows the smell went away. the house is in good condition, the pool and hot tub were great. we did have a problem with the pool being cloudy and they sent pool service over immediately.at night you can hear the camps below even though they are not close, it did not bother us but could bother others. nice hiking trails on the property but be careful not to get lost. walking distance to town and beautiful scenery. not many bugs even though it is in the woods. overall a great stay, would recommend they open the windows before you arrive though.

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed Sequoia, and we do hope you'll come back. Thanks for the review. -Rachel

-gail on 09/22/2013

 

"Great property but needs TLC"

4 of 5

We enjoyed this home which was fully equipped with everything possible.It is in a wonderful location, very close to town. Great property for dogs. Unfortunately the property is somewhat neglected. The pool area was covered with fallen leaves, which should have been swept up. The home is in need of a deep cleaning. Dust covered the hanging light fixtures, base boards, decor items. The bedding in the master should be upgraded. Overall it was a nice home for a family gathering of six adults. We especially liked having dinner outdoors under the stars.

Manager Response:

Thanks for the feedback. Out here in the country, leaves come as soon as they're removed, and we just don't have a lot of control over that. The house has been deep cleaned now, and it also has a new cleaning crew, as the old was not quite doing the job we needed done. We'll let the owners know about your request for new bedding. -Rachel

-Karen on 09/12/2013

 

"Very Nice House"

4 of 5

The house was perfect for our needs. Everybody had their own space to get away if they needed it. Only bummer was the pool. I understand that the pool is close to 30 years old and runs on an old filter system, but that wasn't disclosed at the time of our booking the rental. We rented the property *because* it had a pool. We ended up not using the pool for four out of the seven days because it had turned a funky murky green (seriously, couldn't see the bottom). Otherwise, the house itself was great. Kitchen was well stocked. The rooms were comfortable, the property was very pretty and being so close to town was perfect. A call from the rental service a few days prior to our stay as a courtesy reminder/check in would have been nice. Also, we needed to call twice before anyone came out to see to the pool. Loved all the trees though!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/05/2013

 

"Wonderful, Quite, and Spacious"

5 of 5

I stayed at the Sequoia Retreat for 7 nights. The house is great and has everything you need. Lots of deck space to relax on, a great pool and hot tub to enjoy. The house is very secluded and private. Yes close enough to downtown Guerneville so you can go out to dinner or get drinks as well as the Safeway to stock the house. We really enjoyed our stay.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/04/2013

 

"lovely place to relax"

4 of 5

Sequoia Retreat is pricey, but very well-equipped and comfortable. My granddaughters loved the pool, and it was great for the adults too. It's very close to town.

Manager Response:

Thank you for the good review, and we're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Please do consider coming back soon. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/08/2013

 

"Wonderfully relaxing!"

5 of 5

We will definitely stay here again! Everyone had a wonderfully relaxing time. The house was more than accommodating, adequately stocked and pool well maintained. The hiking trails were also well maintained and marked. The one thing I would caution is the county ordinance on pitching tents. They don't allow this at all not even on private property. Other than that, two thumbs up!!

Manager Response:

Sequoia Retreat does feel like the perfect spot to pitch a tent and we're sorry you aren't allowed. The County of Sonoma has gotten very strict about what guests can and can't do at a vacation rental and that's primarily for your protection. Also, most of our homes are in neighborhoods and we need to respect the people who live here full time. We're happy you enjoyed your time with us and we'll see you again soon!
Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/06/2013

 

"Spent nice time at "sequoia retreat""

5 of 5

The house was big, clean and warm. Very nice location - close to village to do some shopping if needed, and far from it to be completely alone in the forest. Everybody in our big company liked it very much!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/09/2013

 

"Great summer week"

4 of 5

The house was great with enough space for 8 people. The oven was a bit difficult to figure out, but it worked well enough. Remeber your key code or put in your own because it is easy to be locked out.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/06/2012

 

"The Sequoia Retreat is fabulous, peaceful, and the best vacation"

5 of 5

We rented the Sequoia Retreat for one week in July so our family could have a vacation while attending our nephew's wedding. The location is so close to the Guereneville and just minutes away from hiking in the Redwoods at armstrong State Park. The Russian River offers family fun for everyone! The house is so great and the pool is fantastic! We loved staying here!

-Family Fun on 07/26/2012

 

"Great Place to Stay"

5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this house. The home is beautiful, clean, comfortable and large bedrooms including seating area's inside as well as access to the deck and seating area's for every bedroom. They include many ammenties most rental homes do not offer. The pool was great and temperature was not a problem even though it is not heated. It was a hot week so we didn't have much need of the hot tub. The lounge chairs out by the pool are very comfortable and having the pool house with the bathroom right there by the pool was very convenient. The property is large so there is plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing or all hang out together. I can't say enough good things about this place and hope to come back to it soon.

Manager Response:

I hope you'll come back soon as well and enjoy all there is to enjoy about this wonderful property. -Rachel, general manger

-Oxenrider Family on 06/19/2012

 

"wonderful gettaway"

5 of 5

It was a beautiful place, full of space and amenities. The pool was not heated, but felt good anyway. The hot tub was perfect in the morning. It was a relaxing walk into town. The whole family enjoyed the stay as there was something for everyone in the surrounding area.

Manager Response:

I'm so glad you enjoyed Sequoia and the benefits of its great location and local activities. -Rachel, general manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/14/2012

 

"Family extravaganza!"

5 of 5

This place was the perfect setting for my 30th birthday. Friends and family all had a blast. There was everything you need, pool, hot tub, pool house, towels and sheets galore, all kitchen amenities including poolside cocktail tumblers, napkins, trash bags, coffee maker/filter, pool floaters... The works!!! This was the easiest rental and the best house by far. And dog friendly!!!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/07/2012

 

"Wonderful group getaway"

5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at this cozy comfortable home. The hot tub was great, fire place was delightful, and deck was fabulous for whiling away the hours.

Manager Response:

Sequoia is a fabulous place, and we're so glad you enjoyed it. -General Manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 03/28/2012

 

"Relaxing"

5 of 5

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this house. It was very relaxing, and the way the property is situated you got sun on the pool area until around 5:30-6:00. Very little wind, and of course we picked the best week for weather, it was perfect. I come from a large family and have vacationed in the Russian River area for many years. We have outgrown our parents cabin and this property was quite delightful since our cabin is quite old, and the kitchen is very, very small. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family. I only complaint would be that the dishwasher was not working, and didn't get repaired within our stay.

Manager Response:

We're so glad these folks enjoyed this wonderful property. The dishwasher line was clogged, and has been fixed. It could have been resolved during their stay, if they had let us do the work. -rkl

-The Dumonts on 08/24/2011

 

"Great place!"

5 of 5

We stayed here for a week - we were two families with little kids. The grounds and pool are fantastic, and there is lots of room to spread out in the house. We were very comfortable and hope to come back again next year!

-Nancy B. on 07/21/2011

 

"Good vacation home for family"

4 of 5

The check-in process was quick and easy. Upon arrival the house was clean and fairly true to its description. The house was comfortable ... the location was good ... close to the town and river and lots of places to jog and hike ... the pool area was comfortable and well equipped ... although the kitchen was had most equipment we needed, there was food left in the fridge and freezer. The BBQ was a plus. The beds were not comfortable and the linens were some synthetic material ... the bathrooms were sufficient but there were not enough towels ... there were no towels to use at the pool and we were not informed to bring our own ... although we did. As with any rental vacation house there was positives and negatives. Checking out by 11am proved to be a challenge ... perhaps the check-out time can be extended even for a fee.

Manager Response:

We're happy these guests enjoyed this wonderful home. Synthetic implies cheap, which these are not; all are high quality, but not all are cotton. Other guests have loved the beds, so this is perhaps a matter of taste. We provide one set of bathroom towels per person; there is a washer and dryer if they need to be freshened. It states on our website that people need to bring their own pool/spa towels. We don't have late check-outs in the summer because the cleaners need time to clean before the next booking. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/06/2011