Beach Retreat

You are here

3 Bedrooms
2 Bath
6 Guests

Specials

Weekly discount is stay for 7, pay for 6 - year round!

Rates

Arrival Dates
Minimum Stay
Nightly Rate
5/25-6/9
3
$349
6/10-8/22
5
$349
8/23-9/3
3
$349
9/4-9/6 labor day
3
$402
9/7-9/16
3
$349
9/17-9/23
3
$349
9/23-9/30
3
$349
10/1-11/23
2
$349
11/24-11/28 thanksgiving
4
$402
11/29-12/21
2
$349
12/22-12/28 xmas
3
$349
12/29-1/1 new year's
3
$402

7+ nights arriving 4/1-12/31:  7th night free at regular nightly rate ($349) - calculated automatically.
Additional fees: Peace-of-mind cleaning fee and 14% TOT/BIA (bed tax) are mandatory.

 

Availability

Stay Basics:  Book 2-14 nts online.  Sorry, no one nighters!
Minimum Stay/Rates:  See Rates tab for minimums and rates.

 

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
September 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
December 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
 
March 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2021
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Amenities

  • Off-Street Parking (3 cars max); Keyless Entry
  • 3 Bedrooms (#1 master cal-king, #2 queen, #3 queen)
  • 2 Bathrooms (#1 master shower, #2 shower)
  • Bed & Bath Linens; Washer & Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace (living room), Baseboard Heat. Limited A/C.
  • 2 LCD Cable TV's (46" + Roku/Netflix + DVD in living room; 32" in master)
  • Wi-Fi, Landline Phone, Sonos Bluetooth + Airplay
  • Dining Set (6)
  • Full Kitchen + Gas Stove, Dishwasher, Coffee Grinder, Ice Maker
  • Hot Tub (6) on Private Deck
  • Rear Deck with Dining (6), Gas Grill, View of Woods
  • Lawn with Securely Fenced Dog Run Area off Rear Deck
  • Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
  • Short Walk to *Seasonal (typ May-Oct) Neighborhood Beach & Boats
  • (Boats = Currently 2 Single Kayaks. Number and type may vary.)
  • Short Drive to Town, Wine, Golf, Redwoods, Coast
  • Please bring your own spa/beach towels and toiletries.

Description

Treat Yourself to this Airy Riverfront Cabin Retreat, Perfect-for-Hanging-Out Deck with Woodsy View, Private Hot Tub, Cozy Gas Fireplace, Fully Fenced Dog Run, Lawn. Short Walk to *Seasonal (typ May-Oct) Neighborhood Beach & Boats; Very Short Drive to Guerneville, Wine Tasting, Redwoods, Golf, Coast. Wi-Fi, Landline Phone, Cable/Streaming TV. Off-Street Parking, Keyless Entry. Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!

Clean Getaway: This home is professionally cleaned for your arrival! Your housekeeper is our employee, who, thanks to visitors like you, is able to live and work in the Russian River area. Thank you for supporting local jobs!

Walkthrough: Beach Retreat’s living room is open to the kitchen, with a dining area. The kitchen opens to the rear deck, outdoor dining, fenced yard, and river access. Down a short hall from the living area, there's a master suite with full bath and direct access to the hot tub deck. Directly off the living area, there are two bedrooms, one with direct access to the hot tub deck, and a bathroom. Out the front door, there's a deck with hot tub and privacy fencing. The rear deck has outdoor dining. From the rear deck, there are stairs to the rear yard and fenced dog run. A gate in the fence leads through to the rest of the yard and to the path to *seasonal neighborhood beach. House is approximately 1300sf.

Please note:
-Neighborhood beach & boats are typically accessible May-October.
-This home has a view of woods, not river, but there are no other homes between the house and the beach.
-Have Questions? Ask!

Max Occupancy: 6.
Max Automobiles: 3.
Quiet Hours 10pm-7am.
No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #1988.

Map & Area

Reviews

"Great location and a very pleasant stay."

5 of 5

Great location and a very pleasant stay. The home was well stocked with everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

-Kristin on 06/10/2020

 

"great location close to the river"

5 of 5

Beautiful house in a great location close to the river. Had a blast with my partner, sister, friends, and our dog.

-Kari on 03/19/2020

 

"Great spot to relax by the river!"

5 of 5

Great spot to relax by the river! The kitchen is updated, the access to the river is easy and the response time is fast.

-Stacia on 03/09/2020

 

"Short path to a beautiful beach on the river."

5 of 5

Great location and view of the forest. Quick and easy communication. Short path to a beautiful beach on the river.

-Dominic on 03/05/2020

 

"The house is really lovely."

5 of 5

The house is really lovely. It's well-appointed and feels like someone's home that they are renting out. The kitchen is stocked with dishes and flatware and tools that a pure-Airbnb house typically isn't. It feels like you're a guest in someone's home. The house has been tastefully updated for rental and it looks like it was done by someone who knows what they're doing. All the choices are predominately neutral, and thoughtful. The kitchen was done particularly well -- the fridge is gorgeous, I know that's a weird thing to comment on, but it's nice when your expectations are exceeded. The bathrooms were tastefully done. The art is a bit peculiar, but we didn't mind it. The best part of the place though is how thoughtfully it's been engineered for privacy and for dogs. The outdoors is all fenced, all around, the deck is fenced all the way around where necessary. We could leave our dog on the deck and let him run around, or put him in the dog run down below and not worry about him. The hot tub is also wholly private even though it's not in a perfect location. This was really a lovely getaway and exceeded our expectations substantively in those few key areas. A really nice place.

-Zack on 01/15/2020

 

"This was a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday weekend!"

5 of 5

This was a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday weekend! We very much enjoyed kayaking on the river and hiking nearby, soaking in the hot tub, day trips to the nearby wineries, and relaxing in front of the fire place. They provided a wonderful list of activities and wineries to explore and it was a 3 min walk down to the river! The three bedrooms and two bathrooms were spacious and perfect for our party of 6 adults, and I loved the central living room/dining room/kitchen space - it was open yet cozy. I highly recommend this place!

-Theresa on 12/19/2019

 

"gorgeous"

4 of 5

The view off the back deck makes it feel like you're in the woods, which is gorgeous. It feels nice and remote while still being conveniently close to downtown Guerneville. And the staff at River Getaways was very helpful throughout our stay. The tile floor in the main living space makes this place not so cozy for a cooler-weather time of year - might feel nicer in the summer when you could leave the back porch door open and have an indoor-outdoor vibe. The part of the river that is accessible through the path in the backyard is directly across from a busy highway/country road, so not exactly the beach retreat we were imagining, but still nice to have the river so close by.

-Vanessa on 11/21/2019

 

"Lovely location and cozy place."

5 of 5

Lovely location and cozy place.

-Cassi on 10/24/2019

 

"Fun area on Russian River."

5 of 5

Fun area on Russian River. Great rental having 3 bedrooms with queen size beds or larger (1 king) Wonderful kitchen. The description matched the rental perfectly. Very cozy with great deck that was partially covered. Bring your own beach towels, shampoo and conditioner! And enjoy

-Sally on 10/09/2019

 

"easy access to the river"

5 of 5

Great location and easy access to the river, stores and restaurants.

-Scott on 09/19/2019

 

"Really enjoyed staying at this home! "

5 of 5

Really enjoyed staying at this home! The hot tub was perfect and access to the river beach was lovey. Home was a great size for 5 people and a dog, plenty of room to spread out. And very conveniently located near town which had a Safeway. Perfect for everything we needed. The hosts were great communicators and told us everything we needed to know upfront and also had a binder with additional information.

-Annelise on 09/05/2019

 

"wonderful deck looking into the trees"

5 of 5

Pretty little house with a wonderful deck looking into the trees we BBQ every night. The hot tub was wonderful to soak in after a long day at Drakes beach which was just a short walk from the house. My kids especially loved the kayaks.

-Natali on 08/22/2019

 

"The Beach Retreat was a fabulous choice"

5 of 5

The Beach Retreat was a fabulous choice for a few days on the river. It was very clean, had everything we needed, and feels private and remote even though it's 5 minutes to town. We'll definitely come back!

-Kaye on 07/19/2019

 

"What a find!"

4 of 5

What a find! Very short walk down to river with a beach, perfect for a group of 6 +2 dogs and a short drive from downtown.

-Joe on 07/11/2019

 

"The river access is awesome!!"

5 of 5

The river access is awesome!! The home is very accommodating

-Deeanna & Matt on 07/03/2019

 

"very well appointed, clean, good layout"

4 of 5

We had a long weekend here with my mum and my 7 month old. Good location v close to Guerneville centre and the rest of Sonoma. Place as per pics - very well appointed, clean, good layout, comfy beds and good shower. Deck and grill were perfect. We were the first people to use the air con unit this year so one of the team came to the property to make sure it was all working as it should. Easy and responsive to communicate with

-Claire on 06/13/2019

 

"Spacious, clean cabin"

4 of 5

Spacious, clean cabin with a lovely back yard close to downtown Guerneville, would stay again.

-Rebecca on 04/25/2019

 

"cozy spot by the river"

5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend in this cozy spot by the river, enjoying it with our 20mo old daughter and another couple with their 2y old. The space was clean, comfortable, and accommodating. While we expected to use the nearby river, a 3min walk, we wound up just hanging out on the deck, soaking in the sun, cooking, and relaxing. All facilities worked perfectly. Beds were comfortable. Our daughter's bedroom was very dark with blackout shades, good for a long sleep. Location is a little remote, about 10m from downtown Guerneville, but still only half an hour from a variety of wineries.

-John on 04/12/2019

 

"Seamless check in and check out process"

4 of 5

Seamless check in and check out process. Well stocked with what you need for the stay. Some complimentary toiletries would be appreciated - body washes, simple shampoos and small toothpastes perhaps. People tend to forget their body washes. Consider lowering the cleaning fees for short stays.

-Virat on 03/09/2019

 

"Great spot"

5 of 5

Great spot for a long weekend away with friends! We greatly enjoyed the huge window looking out to the woods, the living room fireplace, and the hot tub. Was a little more out-of-the-way (down a narrow winding side road) than I expected, but only 5 mins drive so not a big deal at all. The Russian River area was awesome - full of great food, drinks, and views. Would be lovely to come back in the summer so we could make use of the river too!

-Shil on 01/20/2019

 

"Great area and views."

4 of 5

Great area and views. Enjoyed my stay very much. Kitchen was well equipped.

-Gefany on 12/30/2018

 

"We had an amazing week at this beautiful home."

4 of 5

We had an amazing week at this beautiful home just steps away from the river. It was the perfect location for our family and friends to have a wonderful Thanksgiving together.

-Brendan on 11/25/2018

 

"Great location on the river."

4 of 5

Great location on the river with easy Check in process.

-Marcus on 10/29/2018

 

"The kitchen was very nice and updated."

4 of 5

We enjoyed this home a lot. It was very clean and well maintained. The kitchen was very nice and updated and had all the pots and utensils you need to enjoy at-home meals. The dining and sitting areas were comfortable for socializing and had good light through large pane windows facing the back yard. The hot tub would have been better placed in the back rather than the front, but we still enjoyed using it in the front.

-Michael on 10/21/2018

 

"The location was great."

4 of 5

We had a great stay! The house was clean, plenty of towels were available, the hot tub was great, and the kitchen was well equipped for our cooking needs! We really enjoyed being able to hang out on the deck and enjoy the scenery every morning and evening The location was great, it was fun to walk to the river every day! We look forward to visiting again some time!

-Alberto on 10/14/2018

 

"Dog run was a really nice touch."

4 of 5

Great spot. Lovely deck and hot tub. Dog run was a really nice touch.

-Robert on 09/30/2018

 

"Very comfortable with gorgeous views. "

4 of 5

Beautiful, quiet, clean and well stocked. Very comfortable with gorgeous views. Close to Guerneville and pretty beaches

-Leah on 09/16/2018

 

"Loved the large open windows that looked to the trees and ridge-line."

3 of 5

Bring your own beach towel, lemonade and maybe one of those spray bottle fans if you're coming in the summer. We stayed during the warmer months (August-September will always be warm in the area,) so it was very hot. We made due in the morning with the ample fans and opening windows on both sides of the house to create a breeze before it got too hot. Then we cooled off in the River which is just a short adventure down a path to the beach. When it was 86 outside it got up past 90 inside in the afternoon, so we clicked on the AC when we were home for lunch. Perhaps due to the busy season or the guests before us being less than courteous the place was a bit smelly and messy. But beds and bathrooms were clean and fairly cool. The kitchen is new and rather well equipped though I believe still sans a nonstick pan. But we had our own with us from the drive up. Some people might complain that it doesn't have a beach view...but we loved the large open windows that looked to the trees and ridge-line, it prevents it from becoming a fish bowl. And really, you can be on the beach in minutes. We come to Guernville at least annually to do a Burkes Canoe day every year with childhood friends and this is now at the top of the list for the trip. Easily accomodate 3 couples, but it was romantic enough for just us this trip. We brought our two pugs who loved sun bathing on the deck and playing through fence with the neighbors sweet pitbull. (The front room is coolest for crating your pets but has carpet so you must be careful.)

Manager Response:

-Kat on 09/10/2018

 

"Very pet friendly."

4 of 5

Kayaks were a hit with the kids, very pet friendly.

-Kay on 08/26/2018

 

"Recommend!"

4 of 5

Hosts were easy to communicate with and helped with our extra needs. The space was pleasant and the use of boats and floats was a great touch. Recommend!

-Mauro on 08/11/2018

 

"We very much enjoyed our stay. "

4 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. The place was very clean and homey. And the kitchen was, thankfully, very well equipped! A rare, and very much appreciated, bonus for a rental cottage.

-Sherri on 08/04/2018

 

"What a great place to stay!"

5 of 5

What a great place to stay! We really enjoyed the top-notch kitchen - appliances, cookware, dishes, etc. were all high-end. Had a great time cooking at home (bbq is a Weber) and dinner outside most evenings. The deck is wonderful for relaxing and spending some time in the sun reading. The Jacuzzi is a big plus and was sparking clean. The location is quiet and serene. If you like to kayak, this is a great opportunity to do just that. Each morning we took the kayaks out on the Russian River (short walk) - what a great way to start the day! The house is clean and well laid out. The bathrooms are updated as well as the kitchen as I mentioned earlier. There is a washer and dryer - handy if you are in/out of the water during your stay. Also, they have games, books , etc. for your enjoyment. The TV and WIFI worked very well. I'd definitely stay here again!

-James on 05/16/2018

 

"Great place to stay in and enjoy a nice getaway"

5 of 5

Great place to stay in and enjoy a nice getaway. Highly recommended. Nice shops and places to dine at close by. Will definitely return!

-Luis on 04/15/2018

 

"We enjoyed our stay :)"

5 of 5

Nice house, with a great hot tub! We enjoyed our stay :)

-Jorja on 04/11/2018

 

"The home itself is wonderful"

4 of 5

The home itself is wonderful. Lots of great bonuses like a nice hottub. Big beautiful deck. A grill. Nice fireplace. The only minus is the location. If you don’t mind being in a residential area, it’s a very nice home. And the hosts are very helpful and nice. Would recommend.

Manager Response:

We're glad you enjoyed Beach Retreat, Hakop, and appreciate the review and feedback. It's think it's good to note that, along the Russian River, all riverfront (and most non-riverfront) homes are in residential neighborhoods. That density is part of the character of this particular vacation destination. -Rachel

-Hakop on 02/09/2018

 

" We greatly enjoyed the huge window looking out to the woods."

4 of 5

Great spot for a long weekend away with friends! We greatly enjoyed the huge window looking out to the woods, the living room fireplace, and the hot tub. Was a little more out-of-the-way (down a narrow winding side road) than I expected, but only 5 mins drive so not a big deal at all. The Russian River area was awesome - full of great food, drinks, and views. Would be lovely to come back in the summer so we could make use of the river too!

-Shil on 01/21/2018

 

"The layout of this house was amazing..."

5 of 5

The layout of this house was amazing and it made me want to own the place myself. I would rent this place again in the future.

-Karl on 01/03/2018

 

"We loved the area and being so close to the river"

5 of 5

We loved the area and being so close to the river. We loved being close to great restaurants and wineries. We appreciated the check in book that gave some great suggestions on where to go and where to eat. The house had everything we needed and was very comfortable and clean.

-Susan on 12/21/2017

 

"Access to the river and use of the kayaks was a definite plus."

5 of 5

Access to the river and use of the kayaks was a definite plus.

-Anne on 11/18/2017

 

"Awesome place!"

5 of 5

Great time! Per the house book, the barbecue propane extra was not in the house, we ended borrowing from another house. Will be back again and again....

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/09/2017

 

"Peace, Quiet & Relaxed"

5 of 5

The home was clean 95 of 100. Previous renter left some dog waste in the yard. The home was well equipped for cooking which we did for three days, we used the kitchen and the gas grill outside. The rooms were a decent size and we loved the proximity to the river beaches, the shortest time was under 2 minutes but we went to the the beach that was within 3.5 mins, we had a choice of 3. We swam our butts off non-stop for 4 hours and got a nice tan, the weather was fabulous. We will come back next year for sure.

-Rosmy A. on 07/28/2017

 

"pretty ideal!"

5 of 5

Great location -scenic picture windows on to the back deck with a path to the beach- pretty ideal!

-Erin on 05/24/2017

 

" house was clean and spacious"

5 of 5

We had four small dogs with us and it was a perfect trip for them and us. We could let them run around as the garden was so secured but enough space for them to play. The house was clean and spacious for us (4 adults and 4 dogs), it is in a very beautiful setting with the river just beyond the trees - we felt very peaceful sat on the large deck.

-Samantha on 05/17/2017

 

"House is good"

4 of 5

House is good but the neighborhood was a bit sketchy.

Manager Response:

Thanks for the review Rebecca. All of the River area is colorful (the other side of the sketchy coin) and unique, and not to everyone's taste. I describe it this way...There are a range of dwelling types, and you might rub elbows with a 5th generation River resident, a Silicon Valley scion, and a Generation of Love retiree on the same block. In any case, we're glad you liked the house. -Rachel

-Rebecca on 04/13/2017

 

"Great location"

5 of 5

Great location; my family really enjoyed our stay at the beach retreat. Would definitely return.

-Kelly on 12/07/2016

 

"Everything about this experience was beyond ideal"

5 of 5

Everything about this experience was beyond ideal. Communications with the rental company was seamless, early and accurate. They emailed me check-in details with alarm codes two days before our arrival and even provided a handy app. The house was super clean when we arrived. It was the perfect size for our group of 6, the kitchen was very well-equipped, and had all the amenities one could need for a long or short visit. The beds were SO COMFEY too. We loved the proximity to the river and the neighborhood was cute. We'd definitely rent this again. Great little spot.

-Clare on 10/09/2016

 

"Beach Retreat is a really great spot"

4 of 5

The Beach Retreat is a really great spot to spend time when in the Guerneville area. It is only about a eight minute drive to downtown Guerneville and yet is only about a five minute walk to a private beach area along the river. The view from its balcony is lovely (although there in no view of the river itself) and provides perfect privacy. The master bedroom is separate from the the rest of the house and also provides privacy and quiet that are very nice. The kitchen has recently been remodeled and the appliances were very nice. Parking for up to three cards is conveniently right out front. The fenced-in yard is great if one had dogs. On the other hand, when the place gets warm, it is hard to get air circulation because the only opening in the back of the house is the back door to the balcony. When sitting outside, there is some truck noise from Highway 116. While overall quite nice, parts of the house looked a little shabby -- an ottoman in the living room that has seen better days, moldings that need care, some parts of the house the cleaners missed (dust), a kitchen that had basic supplies but we've seen better (e.g., salt and pepper were supplied but no other spices). The balcony railing was not as sturdy as one might like. Especially near the gate it seemed really wobbly. We wanted to do a really good job of cleaning up as we had dogs with us, but the vacuum cleaners in the house were in poor condition and made extra work for us.

-A Guest on 06/12/2016

 

"Perfect place for a wine tasting getaway"

5 of 5

The listing was very representative of the location, layout and amenities.The property was very clean and well-maintained. The owner provided great service and good communication of everything we needed to know. I would recommend this property to family and friends. The property is at a great location for wine tasting, visiting town or any water activities on the river.

-Tony H. on 05/27/2016

 

"Beautiful, sunny house"

5 of 5

Loved the deck and the hot tub! Russian River Rentals were on top of things when we called them for more towels. Kayaks were a lot of fun although the access to the "beach" was less than I ideal-mostly mud.

-Ruby on 02/18/2016

 

"Nice digs"

4 of 5

Good location, nice neighborhood, quite close to river. Well appointed house. Great small kitchen and nice new clean bathrooms. House could be rather warm on a hot day. All review is positive.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/22/2015

 

"Comfy bed, fantastic kitchen , art work creepy"

4 of 5

Being at this house over Christmas was a nice get away. Kitchen had everything and more to prepare a traditional holiday meal. As a Personal Chef that has cooked in many vacation homes both as vacation and professionally this was a real surprise and treat. The King bed was so comfortable. I wanted to take it with me (LOL). The art work overwhelmed my toddler and we had to try and hide it. Personal expression is wonderful but if your opening your doors to an assortment of people (ie: families with kids) things should be more neutral in my opinion. The big TV was awesome to watch a holiday flick and curl up with my teenager. Thanks for the space.

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed Beach Retreat and thank you for the review. The owner took heed of your advice and removed the art work to which you refer. We do hope you'll return to enjoy the house.

-hapydaz2 on 01/26/2015

 

"great house, great location, creepy artwork"

4 of 5

loved the house, the amenities, nice remodeled kitchen and baths-very well maintained and great location with access to neighborhood beach and swimming hole with 3 kayaks-loved everything except the creepy piece of art in the master bedroom-used a sheet to cover it so I could sleep at night- otherwise awesome.

Manager Response:

Beach Retreat is a great home, even better now that the owner has removed the artwork that was problematic for you. Thanks for sharing your experience, and we'd love to see you back at the River soon!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/01/2014

 

"Beach retreat"

5 of 5

This is a very nice 3 bedroom, 2 bath house with recently up graded kitchen, a huge improvement over the previous kitchen as we have rented this house before. It is in a very quiet neighborhood on a private neighborhood beach although people passing by on the river do stop there. A very nice big back lawn with fruit trees and short path to the beach. Elizabeth who stayed with our dog one evening is very wonderful. We have used her previously and she lives in the neighborhood.

Manager Response:

Thanks for your kind words about Beach Retreat and Elizabeth, who is indeed fabulous with the pups. We do hope you'll be back again soon!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/12/2014

 

"Wonderful week!"

4 of 5

This is the best dog friendly cabin we have stayed in. Great fenced yard. You do need to be able to climb many steps to be comfortable here and the week we stayed it was very hot so the bedrooms were very hot at night. Comfortable beds, close to river, nice kitchen, good BBQ and a deck to die for. Took advantage of the hot tub too.

Manager Response:

The homes along the river have been raised because of the potential for flooding in the winter so many have steps to get to the main living area. As for the heat we did have an unprecedented HOT week here on the river the week you stayed with us. I don't think there was anywhere, except the river, that you could have stayed cool! Beach Retreat is a great home and it's nice to know that you enjoyed your stay even in that miserable heat!
Russian River Getaways

-Mc Family on 06/28/2013

 

"Comfortable place and fun location for an active family holiday"

5 of 5

Our little family of 3 couples had fun together cooking, sitting in the nice hot tub on a private deck, cycling into town for groceries, and walking along the river. Our dogs were very secure in the yard and fascinated to have a balcony level view of squirrels in the trees. We really enjoyed touring local wineries' tasting rooms, hiking in the redwoods parks, and beach-combing along the Pacific shore. Five almost perfect days went too quickly. One person was even able to work remotely with her team in SF, using the table on the deck and the excellent WiFi connection while enjoying fresh air. The only issues were that the dishwasher isn't really useful, a few light bulbs were burned out, and we had not expected to provide our own toilet paper and paper towels (not a problem to run into town to buy). A little local store called "Food for Humans" had everything for us to be able to make a gluten-free, lactose-free, happy camp for a most wonderful Thanksgiving that pleased our most sensitive member.

Manager Response:

Beach Retreat is getting a new kitchen this winter, so the dishwasher issue will be solved. We do provide a starter supply of of tp and pt, as we describe in detail on our booking policies page. If this is ever missing, we are just a phone call away.

-Just The Mom on 12/05/2012

 

"Very Relaxing Time"

5 of 5

I first want to say that working with Russian River Getaways was great. We have rented homes for vacation numerous times and we found Russian River Getaways very professional, easy to work with, incredibly organized and helpful. It was nice not to have to worry about a deposit, would we get the deposit back, etc. Thank you for that. The house was adorable and plenty for the 5 of us and 2 dogs. The dog run was perfect. The house really had everything to accommodate us. I would recommend.

Manager Response:

Thank you so much for the compliments and for sharing your experience of Beach Retreat. We hope you'll be back again with us soon.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/04/2012

 

"Fabulous Retreat among the Redwoods!"

4 of 5

we recently returned from the Russian River, staying in the cozy Beach retreat - we are a family of four with two small boys age 3 1/2 and 20months and the house was perfect. Short walk to the river, fenced in small yard and gated deck. The kitchen needs some updating though - the dishwasher is portable and had started to leak upon our departure, and the stove range probably needed an upgrade. Plus for any families, there did not appear to be any plastic dish ware so perhaps bring your own for small kids? We would definitely stay again!

Manager Response:

Thank you very much for your review...the kitchen has been completely remodeled and now has plasticware. We hope you'll come back and check it out.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/23/2012

 

"This home was fantastic!"

5 of 5

We loved staying at the Beach Retreat! This home at everything you could dream of on a vacation. Even some deer coming into the backyard to eat berries. Great place to bring your dogs with the nice backyard. We will be back for sure! Thanks for everything

Manager Response:

You are so welcome! Thanks for your review, and we hope to see you back at the River soon.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/19/2012

 

"Exactly what we wanted !"

5 of 5

Our family of six - and two dogs -had a fantastic time. House seemed to have everything we could ask for. Very clean, close the beach - where both kids and dogs could play. We will definitely be back. Thank you so much

Manager Response:

You are so welcome. I'm so glad you are satisfied with your stay at Beach Retreat. Please do come back and enjoy again. -Rachel, general manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/04/2012

 

"A Mother's Day Weekend to Remember"

5 of 5

This close to river front house was just ideal for a family of four plus one five month old lab/sheppard mix pup. Bedrooms, baths, kitchen & just about everything else was perfect for a nice family getaway. With an expansive deck that wraps front to back, nice sized hot-tub, good view from back deck, privacy, and a short walk to a large Russian River beach, this property has all the qualities for a fun and relaxing stay. The dog enclosure feature was much appreciated. Cozy is the best word for description. The only not so cozy thing about the place were a few of the paintings on the walls. I think our youngest child might have been a little worried at first. Other than this we had a wonderful stay and would love to return in the near future.

Manager Response:

I'm so glad Beach Retreat was a treat! Please do come back and visit again. -Rachel, general manager

-Busy Family seeks break on 06/19/2012

 

"Great relaxing weekend!"

5 of 5

We rented this house for the weekend with another couple and had a great time. The house has everything you need (except bath soap :) ) and the fact that the deck and yard are fenced means, as an over protective dog mom, I could relax on the deck without having to watch her every second. The house also comes with everything you need to have a fun day at the river - inflatable tubes etc... which is what we chose to do. Its a very short walk down the path to the river. You can then come back and just throw all your towels etc. in the wash. The house is clean and there is enough distance between the two larger bedrooms for privacy. We would definitley rent this house again. Thank you for a lovely fun weekend!

Manager Response:

I'm so glad that Beach Retreat had everything you needed (sorry, we don't provide bath soap for sanitary reasons). Please do come back soon. -Rachel, General Manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/14/2012

 

"wonderfully relaxing trip with the dogs"

5 of 5

the cabin was exactly as described. we had a great trip with our dogs, who love to swim. the fenced in area of the yard was perfect. and the river was just a short walk through the yard-- close enough to get to in a minute, but far enough to not drive my dogs crazy. it would have been nice if there were more places to hike along the river from the property, but all in all a great place to stay.

Manager Response:

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at Beach Retreat. Please do come back again! -general manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/09/2012

 

"Amazing!!!"

5 of 5

We had to book last minute and we were unbelievable lucky to come across the Beach Retreat thanks to Julz. It was perfect! It felt like it's own universe. The beautiful trees, the private hot tub, the deck, the lawn and the dog run which was very convenient for our old pooches. This is going on our list of best places to stay in Guernville and the house itself is so lovely with all the wood. Reminded me of Tahoe. It could be a cozy romantic getaway or perfect for a family. Flexible and wonderful! And the beach is right there. We didn't even miss a view of the river with all the trees.

Manager Response:

We're so glad you enjoyed Beach Retreat, and I'll pass your kudos to Julz. Please do come back again soon! -Rachel, General Manager

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/09/2012

 

"Great place, beautifully done, spacious, not enough kayaks."

4 of 5

The house was wonderful, beautifully done, well outfitted. Hottub and decks were perfect. Night view of the stars was awesome. River access was good. Not nearly enough kayaks for 6 people. Had only one tandem and one single. Should have enough for full crew of 6. Playing on the river is one of the reasons we were there. Left our own kayaks at home because there were more boats available. Next year we'll bring our own.Overall the experience was very good and would rate it 4 of 5 stars.

Manager Response:

So glad these folks like the house. The number of kayaks are listed on the webpage, and is exactly what they described, so I'm not sure why they were surprised. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/05/2011

 

"Loved It"

5 of 5

Rrg is a great company and provided excellent service outside of just a wonderful property. Would rent from them again anytime.

Manager Response:

Thanks for the kind words. Come back soon! -rkl

-C W on 09/22/2011

 

"Great vacation spot"

4 of 5

My family stayed at Beach Retreat for a week this summer and we fully enjoyed it. There are short beaches walking distance that are private and nice for little kids. There was a lot of broken glass though so make sure you wear shoes. The property has a great view from the living room, kitchen and porch. It's nice to sit outside and grill as well. We used the hot tub few times and it was very relaxing. The house gets pretty hot but since it gets cold at night, just leave your windows open. The only thing that could be improved would be cleanliness. There were bunch of spots on the carpets where dogs peed and also the bed covers looked pretty dirty (not sure it they were just washed out but could be updated). Also i wish they provided some beach towels, chairs and beach toys.

Manager Response:

Wonderful that these folks liked the house and location so well. The spots on the carpet are not dog pee (no smell). The cleaner has been working on getting them out between bookings, to no avail, so the professional carpet cleaners have been called in. This carpet will be replaced by bamboo flooring this fall. The bedding has a sueded finish that sometimes looks like there are stains from certain angles, if it's not brushed the right way. It's not dirty and is pretty new and in good shape. Beach stuff can be bought inexpensively in town. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/15/2011

 

"Beach Retreat Stay"

4 of 5

Had a great stay. The place is medium-sized for a three-bedroom but certainly adequate for us. Comfy seating, big windows onto the rear deck, wonderful spa. Pretty view from back deck and wonderful back year, perfect for lawn games. The house is well-equipped with an endles supply of water toys and floats. Very short walk to the river, either Drake's Beach or the smaller, sandy beach just downstream. It's one of the best places on the river, we think, because of the proximity of a rope swing and the only island I know of on the river. We especially liked the fact that there is now a place on the beach where you can secure your kayaks, so no more lugging them back to the house every day!Our only complaints about Beach Retreat are 1) the dishwasher is a very small portable unit, and it does not do a great job of cleaning. This is exacerbated by the fact that the plates have very high edges and so do not position well in the unit. Second, two of the three beds have overly hard mattresses; some people may like this, but we didn't.Overall, though, it's a very nice place to stay!

Manager Response:

Glad these folks had a good time. We've never had a complaint about the dishwasher before. When we checked out the dishwasher, we could find nothing wrong the way it cleans dishes, but we'll keep an eye out for issues. People have all sorts of opinions about beds; we just cant please everyone. I dont recollect any other complaints about the beds at this home, so well chalk this up to personal taste. -rkl

-Matt on 08/17/2011

 

"Relaxing weekend retreat"

5 of 5

We stayed at the beach retreat and had a great time. Super family and dog friendly house/community. The river is a short walk from the house and we basically spend most of our days on the river with our kids and dogs. The house was clean and very spacious for a family of 4. Everything we needed to cook was in the house. Great for entertaining too.Thanks for a wonderful time.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/30/2011

 

"Relaxing!!!"

5 of 5

The Beach Retreat was amazing! Location was close to the River, with canoes available. Loved the set up of the house... Great Deck with a hot tub. Great place for the Dogs, lots of space. We are deffinately coming back!

-Dogs Dig this place! on 05/25/2011

 

"Great Location"

4 of 5

The beach retreat was a comfortable home with a great location for our vacation. My husband was participating in the vineman race and the house was a perfect location for all of the activities we had to do. We also enjoyed being able to walk to the river and swim with our son. The house was small but had all the amentities you need. I wish the kitchen had been cleaner, but other than that is was great.

-KK on 08/17/2010

 

"Easy River Access!!"

4 of 5

The house was charmingly decorated, and it's neighborhood was pleasant and quiet, just perfect for our daily walks. The bed in the master bedroom was very comfortable for both of us. Access to the close-by beach was easy and our water-loving dog super relished her twice daily trips down to the river. We enjoyed the large deck and spent some lazy hours on it and on the beach, soaking up the October sun once the morning mists had evaporated. However, two amenities advertised as coming with the house were missing. The expected kayaks, which we would certainly have used, were nowhere to be found. Also, internet access was down, which stalled the plans of two of the four adults in our party to work on-line during our visit. That was a real disappointment and a call to the rental agency did not result in a repair while we were there.

Manager Response:

Hi, thanks for the feedback. Sorry you didn't find the kayaks; the instructions for finding them are in the binder. They are in the basement underneath the house. There are also instructions for resetting the modem for the Internet access. We can't repair the Internet access, but the reset is a simple process.

-Dog Owner on 10/25/2009

 

"great place for kids and adults"

5 of 5

perfect for families or a group of 3 couples. big wrap around deck with safety gate for toddlers. 5 min walk to beach (bring the jog stroller --rough terrain) or 10 min drive to town. it was a perfect place. the only weird thing about it was the master bedroom has very little privacy from the hot tub and front deck area. you might want to bring a queen size dark sheet to put up over the very sheer curtain on the picture window next to the bed, and another smaller dark sheet to put over the all glass door to the bedroom, that looks right out through the all glass front door!other than that we had no complaints and would go back in a heartbeat.

Manager Response:

We're so glad these guests enjoyed this wonderful house. The owner has made it even better by installing black-out curtains on the windows in the master bedroom and added a curtain to the glass in the door. Presto, privacy! -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/04/2009

 

"A wonderful getaway!"

5 of 5

I was at the Beach Retreat with my husband, my 65 year old parents and my sister and her husband - we all loved it! The house is not huge but the rooms are very comfortable and everything was very clean. The master bedroom shower is wonderful. There was plenty of room for the 6 of us to watch movies on the DVD player in the living room together. There are a LOT of stairs - both in front and in back - so the house would not be good if you can't take stairs.It was great to be able to have my little dog with me during vacation - thanks to the owners for allowing well behaved dogs.The back porch is an oasis and the beach within walking distance was perfect. The kitchen was well appointed and - well - we just loved it. If you want to relax and enjoy doing very little this is the place to be!

-gigimom on 09/24/2009

 

"Great place!"

4 of 5

We had a fabulous time at Beach Retreat. Loved the hot tub, access to the beach, kayaks and tubes. The back patio was great for grilling, dinner, and relaxing. Love the common space too--great expansive windows make it bright and nice view of the trees. A great place to relax!! The location is perfect, close to town but with a little privacy too. Would definitely stay here again. Only issue was that the bathroom for the 2 bedrooms was a bit small for sharing by 4 people and both bathrooms could use some bleach or re-caulking at the base...there's a bit of mildew.

-Genevieve on 09/10/2009

 

"Too many flies"

3 of 5

We liked the Beach Retreat, this was our second year there. My husband and I shared the 3 bedroom house with my daughter and her husband and their two children ages 3 years and 6 months. The house is nice, big living area/kitchen, nice bedrooms back deck, etc. It's sweet because you can walk to the beach and the beach there is pretty nice. The big problem we had was the flies. There was no screen door so when you wanted to leave the back door open you were beset with flies. We have pictures of the six month old napping with flies on her. We complained about the problem but nothing was done about it while we were there. We kept being told that the owners were not responding to email and that they had to sign off on a screen door. At one point someone at RR Getaways told my daughter to go buy fly paper and keep the receipt for reimbursement. Ultimately, after many calls, someone was sent to try and give us a screen door, but not until our last day, and he was not able to install the door. Also the dishwasher is way too small for a cabin which is probably ok for 6 or so persons. Other than that it was great. But please.....do something about a screen door! The whole point is to enjoy indoor and outdoor living with that big deck. Having to keep the door closed to avoid flies, or keep the door open and get a house full of them, was a downer to our much anticipated family vacation.

Manager Response:

We're so sorry about the flies; this must have been a major hatching event as we've never had this problem there. In any case, this was mis-handled by the staff person who was at the office the day you complained and she has since left our employment. Delivering fly strips was fine, but you should have gotten a screen door right away. The screen door, which unbeknownst to us had been taken down and stored in the locked garage by the owner, has been re-installed. So we hope you come back and enjoy a future no-fly vacation.

-Judy on 08/25/2009

 

"ADEQUATE WITH A TWIST"

4 of 5

ENJOYED THE HOUSE AND HOMEY FEEL. HOWEVER, WHEN WE ARRIVED:AC DID NOT WORK: HAD TO HAVE BREAKER FIXEDJACUZZI(VERY NICE) WAS DIRTY; HAD TO HAVE IT SERVICEDBBQ WOULD NOT HEAT UP; HAD TO HAVE IT REPLACEDTHIS ALL TOOK TIME AND PH. CALLS. HOWEVER, RESPONSE WAS WONDERFUL & timely. EVERYTHING GOT FIXED.SUGGESTIONS: KITCHEN NEEDS UPDATE, E.G. CUPBOARDS, DRAWERS, ETC. WHERE TABLE IS UNDER WINDOW, SUGGEST BUILT IN SIDE- BOARD/CUPBOARDS FOR MORE STORAGE & POSSIBLY BETTER PLACE FOR MICROWAVE. SML. BATHRM. ALSO NEEDS UP DATE.NEED LIGHT OVER TABLE.DECK WAS FABULOUS(WITH GATE) AS WELL AS GRASS AREA AND SHORT WALK TO RIVER. KAYAKS WONDERFUL. SUGGEST FENCE ON ONE SIDE, ESP. IF DOGS ARE ALONG.LAUNDRY ROOM WAS GREAT AND CONVENIENT.ESP. GOOD PLACE TO STAy if have pets.

-FEARLESS FOURSOME PLUS TWO on 07/23/2009

 

"Beautiful, well-kept house"

5 of 5

This is a gorgeous house - nicely decorated and very close to a wonderful neighborhood beach. Not a "party house" as there are very clear instructions about cleaning up and it is pristine.

-sanfrancisco1979 on 07/02/2009

 

"HORRIBLE!!!!"

1 of 5

THIS PROPERTY WAS SO MISLEADING IN THE PHOTO'S, THE SPA IS IN THE FRONT OF THE HOUSE AWAY FROM THE BBQ, THE TRAIL TO GET TO THE RIVER WAS HORRIBLE, IT DID NOT HAVE A RIVER VIEW, THE RIVER SMELLED HORRIBLE, THE HIGHWAY WAS ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE RIVER ON AND ON I CAN GO. IF YOUR LOOKING FOR SECLUSION FORGET IT. WE SWITCHED PROPERTIES WHEN WE GOT THERE. THE ONLY GOOD NEWS WAS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT!

Manager Response:

Unfortunately, this is an instance of a guest not reading the very accurate description of this home posted on our website. This river beach is right by my own house and the river certainly does not smell bad--it's just gorgeous there--and we tell everyone that they will have road noise if they rent on the river. It's just the way it is for almost all the river-front homes. The house webpage says there is no river view because there are trees and shrubs between the house and the beach; otherwise, there would be no privacy. The path to the beach was overgrown and we immediately sent the yard guy out to trim back the foliage. This is a lovely home with very positive guest feedback over the years. There's nothing wrong with the house or the beach or the river; it was just the wrong house for these guests.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/22/2009

 
Leave Review
4.535715
(4.5 Average)