River Queen

You are here

5 Bedrooms
5.5 Bath
14 Guests

Description

Get Your River History On...Riverfront Mansion, Lovingly Restored with Antiques, Updated in All the Right Places, Resort-Like Acreage, Redwoods, Sweeping River Views, Stone Fireplaces, Two Kitchens, Pool Table, Ping Pong, *Seasonal Dock, Boats & Firepit, Hot Tub. Short Drive to Town, Beach, Golf, Wine Tasting. Wi-Fi, Unlimited Domestic Long Distance, Cable TV. Keyless Entry. Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!

Living up to her name, the River Queen is the ultimate in grace, luxury, and comfort. Each level is complete as a living unit...perfect for corporate retreat or family reunion or friends getaway. The main entry is on the upper level, where you’ll find the living room, large main kitchen, semi-formal dining room, and a 47 foot sun porch with sweeping view of the river. There are three master suites, each with full private bath (interesting historical twist: two of the baths are back to back and have a door between them!). The lower/ground level has two more bedrooms (each with an anteroom with two twin beds), two full baths (one on the hall, one off one of the anterooms), a family room, a rec room with half bath, a kitchen with wet bar/pass-through, and access to the patio, garden, and deck areas. In all, there are 12 separate sleeping spaces (including regular beds, day and bunk beds). Outdoors, there are grassy areas with activities for all, grill deck off the kitchen, riverside dining decks and hot tub under redwoods with a view. Stairs lead down to the river and *seasonal pier. The entire house is approximately 5500 square feet.

*This home has a seasonal river access and boat(s). Contact us for more information.

Detailed Amenities:
Historic Riverfront Property with Redwoods
3 Upper Level Bedrooms (#1master king; #2master queen; #3master queen)
2 Lower Level Bedrooms with Anterooms (#4 queen + 2 twins; #5 queen + 2 twins)
+1 set of bunk beds (lower level rec room), 3 daybeds (upper and lower levels)
5.5 Bathrooms (#1master tub/shower; #2 master tub/shower; #3master shower only; #4 tub/shower; #5 shower only; #5.5 half bath)
Bed and Bath Linens (bar soap, shampoo, spa/beach towels NOT provided)
Central Heat (upper level), Radiant Heat (lower level), NO Air Conditioning.
Fireplace (living room), Fireplace with Woodstove Insert (family room)
2 Large Flatscreen Cable TV's with DVD and Streaming (upper & lower levels)
CD Player and Music Options
Wi-Fi, Unlimited Domestic Long Distance
Books, Board Games, Movies
Game Room with Table Tennis and Foosball (lower level game room)
Pool Table, Shuffle Board Table (lower level living room)
47' Sun Porch Overlooking the Russian River (upper level)
Hardwood Flooring, High, Open Beam Ceiling (upper level)
Semi-Formal Dining Room (12-18)
Full Kitchen with Blender, Microwave, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Cookware
Thermidor Gas Range, Dishwasher, Large Refrigerator (upper level)
Basic Kitchen Refrigerator, Stove (lower level)
Washer and Dryer
Keyless Entry
Riverside Decks with Dining Sets, Seating Areas, Loungers, River View
Small Deck with Gas Grill (propane provided) (off kitchen/sun porch)
Large Hot Tub on Separate Deck in Fairy Ring with River View
Grassy Rear Yard with Firepit; Seasonal Hammock
Gracious Stairway to *Seasonal Concrete Pier
*Seasonal Boats: 5 single kayaks, 1 canoe (exact type and number of boats may vary)
Landscaped Front Garden, Horseshoes, Basketball Hoop
Your Well-Behaved Dog is Welcome!
Short Drive to Golf, River Beach, Guerneville, Monte Rio, Wine Tasting, Hiking, Coast

Minimum Stay: 2 Nights EXCEPT 3 Nights President's Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day thru Sept 30, Christmas thru New Year's; 4 Nights Thanksgiving. Summer: Up to 7 Nights June- Aug; Check-In Day is FRIDAY. Last minute shorter bookings sometimes available.

Max Occupancy: 12. Max Automobiles: 5. Quiet Hours 10pm-7am. No outdoor amplified sound at any time.

TOT Certificate #2035.

Rates/Availability

Check out our SPECIALS!

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
December 2018
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
January 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
February 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
 
March 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
April 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
 
May 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
 
July 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt
31
$899 /nt
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
$899 /nt
2
$899 /nt
3
$899 /nt
4
$899 /nt
5
$899 /nt
6
$899 /nt
7
$899 /nt
8
$899 /nt
9
$899 /nt
10
$899 /nt
11
$899 /nt
12
$899 /nt
13
$899 /nt
14
$899 /nt
15
$899 /nt
16
$899 /nt
17
$899 /nt
18
$899 /nt
19
$899 /nt
20
$899 /nt
21
$899 /nt
22
$899 /nt
23
$899 /nt
24
$899 /nt
25
$899 /nt
26
$899 /nt
27
$899 /nt
28
$899 /nt
29
$899 /nt
30
$899 /nt

Map & Area

Reviews

"River Queen"

5 of 5

Amazing house. Amazing location.

Manager Response:

Thanks for the review, Fay. We're super glad you enjoyed your stay at River Queen! -Rachel

-Fay (Airbnb guest) on 06/09/2018

 

"Beautiful home, decks, and grounds."

5 of 5

Beautiful home, decks, and grounds. Extremely tranquil with killer views of the river and redwoods! Excellent location to town. Many little touches are provided that makes one feel they are “home” during their stay. Pride of ownership really shows!

Manager Response:

Thank you so very much for the review and feedback, Margie! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at River Queen and do hope you will be back soon! -Rachel

-Margie (Airbnb guest) on 05/26/2018

 

"River Queen"

5 of 5

This house was great! There were so many great amenities that the biggest problem was that we didn't have enough time to enjoy everything. We will definitely consider this house again for future trips.

Manager Response:

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Queen, Sarah, and hope you will be back! Thanks for the review. -Rachel

-Sarah (Airbnb guest) on 05/18/2018

 

"A Celebration Of Joy!"

5 of 5

A weekend designed to celebrate a birthday became a weekend of pure joy. 9 of us arrive at this house with hopes of spending time on the river or in the hot tub or just roaming around the local vineyards on wine tastings as we celebrated one of the members birthday. The weather didn't get the message and it rained almost the entire time. But what we experienced was by far no disappointment as this beautifully equipped home with its spacious game rooms, large kitchen and aminities had something to brighten up the gloomy days for each and every person. On the last night there, we had hardly left the house at all and I had to just stop and listen for a few moments as the sound of laughter filled each floor of the house as people played pool and a host of other games and activities. I'm sure that our group is not the only one to have experienced and left behind overwhelming joyful energy for those who follow in renting this wonderful house. Thank You for exceeding our expectations!

-Mike E. (VRBO guest) on 04/21/2018

 

"Beautiful relaxing space"

4 of 5

Beautiful relaxing space chock full of games and amenities to entertain large groups

Manager Response:

We are super glad to hear your group enjoyed River Queen, Greg, and hope you'll be back someday soon. Thanks for the review! -Rachel

-Greg (Airbnb guest) on 04/11/2018

 

"It is a great space if you have a large group..."

5 of 5

It is a great space if you have a large group and are having a retreat. The space was incredible and the views are spectacular.

Manager Response:

Thanks for the review, Kevin! We're glad the Queen worked well for your group and hope you'll be back. -Rachel

-Kevin (Airbnb guest) on 02/23/2018

 

"River Queen"

4 of 5

Fun place to host any event and enjoy the surrounding nature. Awesome hosts!

Manager Response:

Thanks for the review and feeback, Terrence - much appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. -Rachel

-Terrence (Airbnb guest) on 02/17/2018

 

"River Queen"

4 of 5

Stayed Feb 1 2018 to Feb 5 2018
The River Queen was a great spot for a group of people to get away to for my birthday this year! We did lots of cooking, hot-tubbing, and enjoying some unseasonably warm February weather to make use of the lawn & outdoor fire pit. It's close enough to town to not make getting supplies a chore, but far enough out that you don't feel crowded at all.

Manager Response:

Thank you for sharing your birthday experience at River Queen, Tim! We are so glad you had a good time and hope you'll be back! -Rachel

-Tim (Airbnb guest) on 02/05/2018

 

"Fall Family Celebration"

4 of 5

Excellent vacation home in gorgeous setting and area. Very accommodating. Showing it’s age and experiences but well kept and equipped.

-sallyd122 on 10/29/2017

 

"A Great Rustic Retreat"

4 of 5

The place could use a little freshening up and new mattresses. Need a set of regular eating spoons.

-Francis I. (VRBO guest) on 09/13/2017

 

"River Queen"

5 of 5

Terrific! Room for everyone, great access to the river, lots of games, wonderful and peculiar furnishings throughout. Privacy!

-louisez386 on 08/03/2017

 

"The River Queen"

5 of 5

Stayed Jun 18 2017 to Jun 21 2017
The River Queen is a wonderful house in a beautiful location, on the river, surrounded by the redwoods, and close to the Pacific. Very well appointed, equipped, and ample.

-Fernando (Airbnb guest) on 06/21/2017

 

"This is an amazing home..."

5 of 5

Stayed Apr 28 2017 to May 3 2017
This is an amazing home in a stunning location. Well set up for business off-sites and family vacations. Beautiful.

-Nancy (Airbnb guest) on 05/03/2017

 

"Great deal with tons of beds!"

5 of 5

This house has a beautiful enclosed porch with a great view of the river and tons of light, a spacious kitchen, a great big table for lots of people, a cozy living room with fireplace and great games rooms downstairs. The hot tub is beautiful and the kayaks were great to have. Plus there are a bazillion beds both in bedrooms and in sitting rooms. The slight downsides are that the outside sitting area is not connected to the house very conveniently and the layout is kind of strange. For example there are no upstairs bathrooms unless you go through a bedroom, and two of the bathrooms are oddly connected by a door. The kitchen (and much of the house) is old and funky but completely adequate and very well-stocked. It was great for our group of 11 friends.

Manager Response:

Thanks so much for your great review of River Queen! We're glad you enjoyed your and hope you were able to have some adventures in our area as well. We also hope you'll be back to the Russian River sooner rather than later. Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-Serena C. (VRBO guest) on 04/25/2017

 

"Extraordinary"

5 of 5

The house is even better than the photographs. Spectacular. We enjoyed every minute of our three days and did not want to leave.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/13/2017

 

"Gorgeous, Expansive, WINDOWS & VIEWS, Fun, Comfortable home for a special gathering!"

5 of 5

The River Queen was the setting for my wedding reception. The house itself is INCREDIBLE! Absolutely homely and comfortable. Wonderful rooms with ample sleeping space! The number of windows and skylights in the house is very rare and special, and made it even more incredible for the fact that it sits right on the Russian River. We were fortunate enough to stay there during a huge storm where the river flooded! (We were so excited about this! It made the weekend even more magical!!) The house was not only stocked with board games but table games (such as pool, shuffleboard, etc.). It is a great house for a winter rental because there is a very large (and beautiful) fireplace with lots of extra firewood stocked in the carport which kept the house nice and cozy. I certainly recommend this house to anyone during any season. We will be back!

-Robin N. (VRBO guest) on 01/18/2017

 

"Our stay at the River Queen was amazing..."

5 of 5

Stayed Nov 3 2016 to Nov 6 2016
Our stay at the River Queen was amazing. It is huge and truly beautiful. The pictures don't do it justice. Everything we could have possibly needed was there. We called and mentioned wishing we had a place for our dog to be during quiet/rest time and the rental company gave us a dog crate to use. It was a really wonderful experience.

--Jonathan (Airbnb, Nov 2016) on 11/06/2016

 

"The Perfect getaway for a large group!"

5 of 5

The River Queen exceeded all of our expectations! We had a wonderful family weekend getaway with 10 adults and 4 kids and never once felt crowded, yet it still felt very homey and cozy, and was a perfect spot right on the river. We wish we had more than just a weekend to take advantage of all the fun activities and games they provided (ping pong, pool, hot tub, kayaking, etc.) and are definitely keeping this on our list to come back to. The property management office was always very responsive to our questions and provided immediate service when we had a small toilet clog on a Saturday. Highly recommend this house for any large group gathering!

-Cristina L. (VRBO guest) on 10/20/2016

 

"Great Place for Group Vacation!"

5 of 5

We had a big group (15 people) and this was the perfect house for a 3 day weekend. It everything we needed and more - kayaks, canoes, games, pool table, hot tub, etc. The kitchen was well stocked and organized, and everything in the house actually worked and was easy to use - which isn't always the case with rentals :). We put the kayaks and tubes to good use, form the dock right on the property. Amazing location on the rive, with great views of the sunset. Really can't say enough good things - house is old, but with tons of charm and space! Definitely would use again and recommend to others!

-Kyle W. (VRBO guest) on 09/24/2015

 

"family time on the river, in the kitchen. and on the coast"

5 of 5

I don't recall that the web page mentioned the ease of kayaking, swimming 100 yards downstrean to a beach on the other side or to the rocks across at the bend in the river, but we took advantage of that feature -including children as young as eight years old

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/04/2015

 

"Reunion of College Friends and Spouses"

5 of 5

There were 14 of us who all fit comfortably in the available space. We enjoyed the experience very much including all the sites and activities available in the area, Lynmar Winery in particular

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/07/2014

 

"A perfect family getaway"

5 of 5

River Queen was our chosen destination for a week-long Christmas family reunion. The booking process was very straight-forward and my questions were answered promptly via email. The information provided was very thorough and made our stay a pleasure. The historic home was a pleasure to stay in for the week and everyone enjoyed themselves, whether it was as part of a group or when quiet time was desired. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could possibly need to prepare meals for a large group. There are plenty of towels and a huge washing machine and dryer to keep up with everyone. The fireplaces (one downstairs, one upstairs) were a central gathering point and the firebugs of the house were kept busy keeping the coals going. The best part of River Queen is that it is big enough to have a large gathering without feeling cramped. We definitely recommend Russian River Getaways and having stayed with them twice now, once as a couple and once as a big group, they will have a residence to suit any need.

-Cheryl on 01/07/2014

 

"Large,comfortable well equipped home at the Russian River."

4 of 5

There was plenty of space and plenty for everyone to do.The house was well equiped with books,games, beach chairs, kayaks. The views and weather were perfect. The down side: It needed a deep cleaning. The stove didn't work properly, we needed to buy new tips for the pool sticks, the kayaks had oars that were broken. The cleaning fee was exorbinant. The refrigerator looks big but couldn't really fit that much in it. Lots of stairs... not great for the old folk.

Manager Response:

Thank you so much for the review, and we're glad you enjoyed the house. The stove and oars have been replaced, and we'll make sure the other things are taken care of. The cleaning fee goes directly to the cleaners for the amount of time it takes to clean the house, and even so, there's little time for deep cleaning during back to back bookings in the summer. That said, we have replaced the cleaning crew after another complaint, so the house is in much better shape now. -Rachel

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 09/23/2013

 

"River Queen Holiday"

5 of 5

My brother's and sister took my 90 year old mother to this beautiful house June 2013. We had between 12 and 17 people there for the week. We had competitive tournaments in ping pong, pool table and board games. (risk and poker). We also went to the local 9 hole gold course which is very nice. The bedrooms and other rooms were just great. There were some minor issues, like the BBQ and umbrella, but that did not make the stay any worse. It was a great time and we would do this again in a heartbeat. Thanks River Queen, we loved it there.

Manager Response:

The River Queen is just that, the Queen of all homes! The sun room is beautiful with the view of the river flowing by and all the fun activities right at your fingertips. It's definitely a great family gathering home and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/26/2013

 

"The Queen needs a face lift."

3 of 5

The 5500 sq ft house is a perfect river side location for views, fresh air, and boating. The hot tube and the best feature. The interior had odd and in some cases inadequate and drab lighting. Some of the beds were very uncomfortable. The TV was a late 1980's back light job blurry and washed out. The stove stopped working eh 2nd day. The fridge alarm went off at 3 am and would not stop buzzing for an hour. The kitchen sink faucet was scalding hot or cold and did not mix. There are 11 beds in bedrooms with the remainder scattered around the house in other rooms. The pool table was not level. Several doors self locked and had be be propped open or you got locked out. The mini stereo from 1995 was radio and CD only with no port for an ipod/iphone. That was very disappointing and of poor quality. The computer did not work at all. The outside patio unbrella looked new but was broken and not usable. We could not sit at the table and have protection from the hot sun. Someone with good taste and $5000 could fix everything by eplacing some of the useless or funky furniture with so good used stuff and upgrade it a four star rental in about 3 days. The rental cost is a 4 star rate and not quite worth it in my opinion.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/09/2013

 

"Fantastic house with great amenities!"

5 of 5

We rented this house for a getaway weekend for 20 adults, 2 children (under 2), and one little red dog. This house is absolutely fantastic. When you walk in the door we were amazed with the comfort and luxury. The pictures do not do it justice, you have to experience it to understand.The kitchen is fully stocked with most every pan, appliance, & baking implement that you'll need. We were actually a bit shocked that all the 'extra' pans we brought were mostly not needed. The only thing we seemed to be a bit short on all weekend was wine glasses.The fire places were great and the sitting areas by them super cozy - although there wasn't kindling provided and the wood that was provided was a bit damp. Luckily we were able to get a hold of one of our later arrivers and had them pick up some fire starters.The boats provided were fun although the ramp to the dock was a bit precarious because the mud on the steps made it slick. Some of our intrepid friends took some time to clear a path in the mud (as much as they could) so that they could bring a few boats down. Everyone who went boating on the river thoroughly enjoyed it.One of the only downsides was the noise levels. My friends are not the quiet type and because of the layout of the house if they stayed upstairs the noise level was a bit much in the masters. However we discovered a few fans about the property and used them for 'white noise' and that helped greatly.I would definitely recommend this property. It was beautiful, large, and stocked with everything we could have needed!!!

Manager Response:

Thanks for the feedback! We'll make sure that wine glasses are stocked back up and take a look at the wood pile. I do have to point out for the future that the river is not considered safe for boating or swimming Nov-Apr.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/06/2013

 

"Memorable!"

5 of 5

My sorority sisters and I recently stayed at the River Queen for an Oregon alpha Pi Phi reunion. What a magical time we all enjoyed! This trip had special meaning for myself as my grandparents owned the River Queen in the 50s and 60s and I spent many summers and Christmases here as a child. It was fun for me to revisit and share it with my sisters. Even though the house has changed over the years, the accomodations are wonderful, plenty of room for all and the surrounding area is beautiful. Kitchen is great, watched the U of O Duck game in the downstairs living room on the big TV (we won!), kayaked, relaxed on the deck and in the hot tub and enjoyed the beautiful Russian River area so much. Armstrong Grove, Jenner and Duncans Mills were hits, along with the bookstore and coffee shop in Guerneville. Wish we could have found Bohemian Grove for fun! Thank you for a wonderful, memorable visit to this marvelous, historic home! If you want a great place for a large group, this is the house for you. It is one of a kind on the Russian River!

Manager Response:

What a great story - thanks so much for telling it! -Rachel, general manager

-Oregon Pi Phi on 10/16/2012

 

"A family's heaven"

5 of 5

Just celebrated a week at the River Queen with my family - all 21 of us ranging from 83 years of age to 5 months and it was fantastic. The River Queen had more then enough room for all 5 families to sleep and also to relax. We were able to find activities for everyone, golf, boating, biking, walking... The weather was great because the River Queen is only 10 miles from the ocean, so there was some morning fog but when it burned off the temperature was perfect. Our favorite gathering place in the house was the kitchen and the inclosed deck that looked out onto the Russian River.

-AMB on 07/26/2012

 

"Amazing getaway for large groups!"

4 of 5

The River Queen estate is a true gem of a hide-away for a long weekend. We had a variety of friends and families with children that came together from all over Ca, and there was plenty to do for everyone without ever leaving the area. The layout of the house and bedrooms offered everyone the privacy they needed, and with many different places to congregate, without ever stepping on anyone's toes or noise carrying. It was also super helpful to have the kitchen downstairs as a backup fridge, and prep area for making large group meals. It was also stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook and serve, not just the basics. The games, kayaks, canoes, hot tub, basketball hoop, fire pit, and multiple porches were all a big hit! The only little detail that was inconvenient (but by no mean a problem of substance) was that the only bathroom that is not in one of the bedrooms is tucked in a far corner downstairs. Because we had multiple nappers and a variety of bedtimes, using the bathrooms upstairs required some coordination. I highly recommend this property... my group will be back, for sure!

Manager Response:

The Queen is truly special, and I'm glad you made the most of your visit. Please come back again soon. -Rachel, Russian River Getaways

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/13/2012

 

"Flawless and Beautiful."

5 of 5

I don't have much to say beyond - this was a flawless, excellent stay, and I can't wait to return.

Manager Response:

The Queen is a truly amazing experience, and we're so glad you enjoyed it so much. -general manager

-Christopher Horvath on 05/31/2012

 

"One absolutely fantastic birthday party."

5 of 5

When we did the search for a house in which to host a birthday celebration there were two main criteria - no more than two hours from San Francisco and large enough to accommodate our group. The River Queen had everything we needed and wanted. My wife and I along with ten of our nearest and dearest spent an amazing weekend in this marvelous house. We lacked for nothing in a very well equipped and comfortable house. We all commented how much fun it would be to be there in the summer. The weekend could not have been better despite the rain.Upon our arrival on Friday I realized we needed another coffee maker as well as flashlights. Someone came by very promptly to take care of the request and gave us some interesting history of the River Queen.

Manager Response:

Excellent that you enjoyed the Queen so much, and we're glad we were able to take care of you. -GM

-Peachey on 01/26/2012

 

"Perfect"

5 of 5

You know how you ren a house and the arrive and it's so much smaller than you could imagine? This was the opposite. I'd been having anxiety about whether we would all fit comfortably over the weekend away. I mean, in some houses I have stayed in, they turn closets into bedrooms. We had the max adult occupancy and half of the time I was completely unaware of anyone butmyself and my sister. We all had comradery and privacy on demand. Perfect. We will be headed back.

Manager Response:

The Queen is indeed a majestic sized home. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay there. -rkl

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/16/2011

 

"Fabulous space for a large gathering"

5 of 5

We celebrated my husband's 40th birthday here with a group of 18 adults and infants/toddlers of assorted ages. It was a wonderful space for this type of gathering. Lots of different sleeping options for different combinations of couples with kids, couples w/o kids, and singles. The large, open kitchen and adjacent dining table were perfect for hanging out while cooking meals, and the other public areas (large living room, huge deck area with multiple levels, yard in front and back, and downstairs living room and game room) were fun for adults and kids to explore. The view of the river from the back deck is beautiful, and the hot tub is located right in the middle of a circle of redwood trees. We also enjoyed kayaking and canoeing on the river. Very easy river access.

Manager Response:

The Queen leaves another group of guests happy! We love this home as well and are so glad that it worked so well for these folks. -rkl

-HJR on 10/26/2011

 

"Fabulous Family Reunion Spot"

5 of 5

We rented the River Queen for a family reunion and 95th Birthday celebration for my mother-in-law. The River Queen was the perfect place to relax and visit with one another while close enough to the sights that everyone could come and go as they pleased. The upstairs kitchen is huge and very well appointed. Each family took a turn cooking the evening meal. Very quiet and peaceful.

Manager Response:

Thanks for these kind words. The River Queen is a wonderful home, and we're so glad these guests enjoyed it. -rkl

-LookingForSeaGlass on 09/24/2011

 

"Great spot for a family reunion"

5 of 5

Had a wonderful time in a wonderful old house! Wish it was still in the future...but, alas!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/18/2011

 

"Redwoods and River bliss"

5 of 5

Held my 40th birthday with assorted friends and family at the River Queen. Awesome venue and great house with plenty of history. Kayaking from the back yard a definite plus. Pool table came in handy, but the upstairs sun room also proved very popular.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/07/2010

 

"Great Family Friendly Vacation Home"

4 of 5

We stayed at the River Queen this year with 14 family members ranging in age from 6 to 80 years old and 3 dogs. The house was great! Plenty of room for everyone. The youngsters loved spending time in the river and the hot tub and the elders loved sitting on the sun porch watching all the activity. The river access is challenging - with the young, the old, and the dogs having trouble getting back on the pier without help from a strong-tall adult also in the water. Everyone loved the canoe, and kayaks. The yard and decks are beautiful. The only caution is that the house is right off of highway 116 and the yard is not secured, so you may need to keep your dogs on a leash to keep them safe. We had a wonderfal trip and would definitely stay here again.

-Happy Camper on 07/01/2010

 

"Great family place."

4 of 5

This home is wonderful for large families. We had room to play board games and we could all sit down for meals together. The wildlife was fabulous! The whole family has sent emails to us relating that their time at the River Queen was great!

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 12/02/2009

 

"We love the River Queen"

5 of 5

This is the second time we've rented this house for a company retreat. It's beautiful and so nicely situated on the river. It is a great house for a lot of people to share comfortably -- with areas for big groups as well as small seating areas for more intimate conversations, it's perfect. Nice kitchen, beautiful sun porch and great bedrooms upstairs.The only problem with the house is the circulation down to the rear main deck and the river access. It is something that could be improved, but it's not a major fault. We also had some difficulty with the stove.

-ann s. on 10/06/2009

 

"The awesome River Queen"

5 of 5

The River Queen is a beautiful home with wonderful views and atmosphere. We enjoyed our family reunion and the home had plenty of rooms, kitchen amentities, and everything else to relax and enjoy some much needed time off.

-Carol from California on 07/03/2009

 

"River Queen Indeed"

4 of 5

We rented the River Queen for a friend's 40th birthday celebration and enjoyed it very much. It's almost like two seperate homes, one upstairs and one downstairs. The layout was great for what we needed, nobody ever felt like they were on top of each other...and we filled the house. Great river access and deck space. Hot tub among the redwoods with a beautiful view of the river. Also, it's a big property which was nice as a bunch of us brought dogs. Easy location, close to Monte Rio. The kayaks and canoe could be updated, some of them were pretty beat up. We wish the pier was a little bigger/longer. The down stairs kitchen could have been better stocked for easier use. That being said, we would definitely rent it again if we needed a house this big.

-happy renter on 06/25/2009

 

"A wonderful home to celebrate your 40th birthday"

5 of 5

A beautiful and rustic home with plenty of room for friends to celebrate.

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/24/2009

 

"A wonderful week of celebrating our 60th anniversary."

5 of 5

The home was perfect for our family of 18 adults & 3 babies. The young adults were thrilled with the amenties downstairs, pool table, ping-pong table, 50" TV & more. The boats were enjoyed by all. Service was impeccable-the stove upstairs needed a service call-it was fixed within the hour. The grounds are gorgeous & the decks perfect. The location is perfect for the coast, wine tasting, hiking, marketing & of course, being on the river was perfect. An absolutely marvelous time was had by all!

-Virginia Doane on 06/15/2009

 

"AWESOME TIME"

5 of 5

We rented the River Queen for a 4-day weekend for 18 people. It was fantastic! The house is roomy, has a lot of ammenities (gas grill, lots of dishes, many nooks for folks to sit and relax, etc.)We enjoyed going down to the dock and kayaking and also the close proximity to wineries and small towns.I highly recommend this house if you want a quite serene setting that isn't in the middle of no where!Nora, MD

-A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/20/2009

 
Leave Review
4.73611
(4.7 Average)